Rank Math Review – Why I Ditched Yoast For RankMath

Review of: Rank Math
Reviewed by: Matthew Woodward
Rating:
Updated On: July 23, 2020

Summary:

Rank Math is the new best free SEO WordPress plugin for anyone that is building out their website. I have been running it across my fleet of sites for the last 9 months and have now converted all of my sites from Yoast SEO to RankMath.

Are you wearing black?

Because today we’re holding a funeral.

It’s for a dear old friend of ours…

The Yoast SEO plugin.

It has been a relatively faithful friend and served us well for many many years.

It was there for the high rankings…

…and for the low ones.

But the time has come to say goodbye. Because there’s a new free SEO plugin in town…

Rank Math.

Rank Math Review: Why I Ditched Yoast For Good

Rank Math creates the perfect foundation for your on-page SEO.

In comparison to Yoast, it’s:

  • Faster
  • Easier
  • More intuitive

And it achieves all of this without slowing your website down. Just take a look at this side-by-side comparison:

Yoast SEO vs Rank Math review SEO

Better still, it has more modern-day SEO features.

For example…

They have a 100-point page analysis test that goes deep into the needs of each page:

100 Point Page Analysis Test

They allow you to optimize for up to 5x target keywords per page for free which you would have to pay for with Yoast-

5 Target Keywords

And, they have a 1x-click advanced SEO analysis tool, to help you perform a site-wide audit in a jiffy:

Site Wide Audit Tool

And best of all?

 It’s absolutely free.

Take a look at this quick video to learn more about Rank Math:

Subscribe to my YouTube Channel Now –>

 
So I’m going to show you how to setup Rank Math the right way and migrate from Yoast if you need to.

How To Migrate To Rank Math

You can painlessly migrate to Rank Math in just a few clicks.

They have a comprehensive setup wizard that allows you to:

  • Migrate from Yoast & other SEO plugins
  • Quickly add essential site information
  • Optimize all your previous posts

Meaning you could be up and running in the next 10 to 20 minutes.

Step #1: Backup Your Site And Perform A Quick Audit

The first step is to back up the current version of your site which you can do this using a free plugin like Updraft.

Once you have your backup, use a site audit tool like:

To perform a quick crawl of your site to get a snapshot of your current SEO situation.

This is so we can compare our site before and after the migration to make sure everything went as expected and we didn’t create any holes.

I noted down some random stats from my crawl in a Google sheet:

Yoast to Rank Math Migration 34x Key Stats

You can get your own version of the sheet by clicking here.

Keep this information handy because we’ll be using it as a benchmark to make sure your Rank Math deployment was successful (better safe than sorry right!).

Now let’s start setting up Rank Math…

(Optional) Step #2: Migrate From Yoast (or other SEO plugins)

If your site is currently using Yoast SEO or any of the other popular SEO plugins, you can quickly migrate everything to Rank Math.

This allows you to easily make the switch without:

  • Needing to update your old posts
  • Going through all your settings again

Rank Math will automatically detect which SEO plugin your site is running and offer to migrate you.

Just go to-

Sidebar > Rank Math > Setup Wizard

And you should see this prompt:

Rank Math Import Seo Settings

Make sure the 4x import boxes are ticked. Then click “Start Import from Yoast SEO”

You can now start configuring your site…

Step #3: Configure Rank Math

If you didn’t import from Yoast…

Go to your WordPress dashboard.

Open:

Sidebar > Rank Math > Setup Wizard

You will see this page:

Rank Math Start Wizard

Click ‘Start Wizard’.

If you did import from Yoast…

You will already see the screen about website information. Either way, fill out the basic information for your site:

Website Information

Click ‘Save and Continue’.

Now, connect your Google Search Console account:

Google Search Console

*Save and continue.*

Now it’s time to create your sitemaps. You’ll want to turn ON:

  • Sitemaps
  • Images
  • Posts
  • Pages

And turn OFF anything else that isn’t required.

Sitemap Configuration

*Save and continue.*

On the SEO Tweaks page, leave everything as default. That should look like this:

SEO Tweaks

*Save and continue.*

That completes the initial setup. On the final page click the ‘return to dashboard’ option.

Then go to:

Rank Math > General Settings > Images

If you are generally on top of your alt tags (which you should be) you can leave these two options set to off.

But if you want Rank Math to automatically generate them for you (not recommended), you can enable it here-

Images Settings

*Save your changes.*

Then go to:

Rank Math > Titles & Meta > Global Meta

On this page turn ‘Capitalize titles’ ON.

*Save your changes.*

Then head to:

Rank Math > Titles & Meta > Global Meta > Homepage

And fill out your homepage information:

Homepage Information

*Save your changes.*

Finally, go to:

Rank Math > Titles & Meta > Global Meta > Social Meta

And fill out all of your social profiles:

Social Meta

*Save your changes.*

And…that’s it!

 Once you have completed this list you have set up the world’s best free SEO plugin.

Step #4: Review The Changes

The final step is to see how migrating to Rank Math has affected your site.

Use the tool you used earlier to re-crawl your site and then compare the results-

Process Review

Most of these changes for me were minimal and upon further investigation they were nothing to worry about.

BUT…

Pay close attention If you see changes like this:

Removed Canonicalization Tags

In this case, Rank Math made a HUGE change to my site.

It removed canonicalization tags from my tag archive pages because they were no-indexed but that’s OK because the pages aren’t indexed anyway.

If you see any radical changes your not sure of, let me know in the comments and I’ll help you out.

Wrapping It Up

Here are the headlines of my Rank Math review:

  • Rank Math is free to use
  • Rank Math is better than Yoast Premium ($89+ per year)

It can also INSTANTLY help you to fix many website issues.

For example…

My rich snippets were filled with errors and “bloat” from a third-party plugin I was using:

Rich Snippets Errors

As you can see it produced a number of warnings and errors!

But after installing Rank Math and using their rich snippet feature these problems were solved instantly-

Rich Snippets Fixed

There was also a remarkable drop off in the errors on my site after installing:

Less Site Errors

So, the real question is…

Why pay $89 a year for Yoast when you can get the more powerful Rank Math for free?

Oh, and did I mention that they have excellent customer support?

rank math support

What are you waiting for?

Download Rank Math now – it’s 100% free.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Rank Math?
Rank Math is a new SEO plugin that I was so impressed by, I migrated all of my sites to use it. They offer a lot of incredible features under one roof and best of all – it’s 100% free.

Is Rank Math Free?
Yes, it is! At the time of writing Rank Math is 100% free for anyone to use. Not surprising that it’s becoming a ‘must to have’ SEO tool.

Rank Math vs Yoast
The biggest difference is pricing, RankMath is completely free. Yoast on the other hand has a freemium model which means you have to pay to access all of the plugins features. Rank Math allows you to enjoy all of those premium features for free, but that might change in the future if they release a premium version.

Is it easy to migrate from other SEO plugins like Yoast?
Yes – there is a dedicated setup wizard that will take you through the migration process. Rank Math will import all of your settings in one click but please see my full tutorial above for the correct testing procedure.

What is the best way to setup Rank Math?
Just follow the steps in my tutorial to make sure you set it up the right way without any risk!

264 Responses

  1. moonawan
    10.14.2020

    this article is very helpful thanks a lot dear keep it up.

    • Matthew Woodward
      October 14th, 2020 at 10:35 am

      Thanks for reading my blog!

  2. ansar habib
    9.30.2020

    I like the helpful info you supply on your articles. I’ll bookmark your blog and check once more here frequently. I am relatively certain I will be informed a lot of
    new stuff proper here! Good luck for the following!

    • Matthew Woodward
      September 30th, 2020 at 9:07 am

      Thank you, Ansar!

  3. Yash Singh
    9.29.2020

    Amazing article brother! Your big fan from India. I even gave you a backlink to this article.

    • Matthew Woodward
      September 29th, 2020 at 9:19 am

      Thank you Yash – I appreciate it! :)

  4. Site Para Advogados
    9.24.2020

    Great article! I was searching for RankMath vs Yoast SEO and just found this post. Im definitely moving to RankMath now…

    • Matthew Woodward
      September 29th, 2020 at 9:22 am

      Good decision! ;)

  5. Tent Depot
    9.23.2020

    Excellent post. thank you for this! This is very helpful.

    • Matthew Woodward
      September 23rd, 2020 at 10:05 am

      No problem! Glad you enjoy my work :)

    • BODYMAN
      September 24th, 2020 at 6:48 am

      It was great and useful. Thank

  6. Lars Petersen
    9.22.2020

    Irritated that I opened your email this evening (the Pro Seo Tools from sept 15.).
    Now I see this:
    1: I’m behind on so many levels
    2: I have a lot less time to watch soccer on TV
    3: I have to clean my office, because I will be sitting there for hours when I crawl through all the information from your website.
    4: my plan on making an affilliate website will have to come on the table again.

    All and all – less sleep, and less leisure time. :-)

    • Matthew Woodward
      September 23rd, 2020 at 10:27 am

      Haha sorry, Lars… ;)
      keep the hard work up – It worths it!

  7. Mohammad Atique
    9.21.2020

    Yes, the article is very informative for those who wants to switch from Yoast to Rank math. I got to know benefits also from this website.

    • Matthew Woodward
      September 21st, 2020 at 9:06 am

      Thanks, Mohammad – Are you going to switch?

  8. kamran
    9.12.2020

    useful information seen on internet today. It contain very useful information. Article is nicely explained and easy to understand. Thanks for sharing this valuable information with us. Keep your good work.

    • Matthew Woodward
      September 14th, 2020 at 10:31 am

      No problem Kamran! Always happy to help!

  9. Klaas Koopman
    9.10.2020

    Matthew, how about SEOpress? I’ve been reading some good stuff about it. But I can’t find a proper SEOpress vs RankMath review anywhere?

    • Matthew Woodward
      September 14th, 2020 at 10:57 am

      Hey Klass – I personally don’t use SEOpress but I heard good stuff about it too.
      Perhaps, I should add it to my list for an eventual article!

  10. songlyricst
    9.7.2020

    which seo plugin use your website

    • Matthew Woodward
      September 7th, 2020 at 10:54 am

      Please read the post – I use Rank Math on my website.

  11. citysearch
    9.7.2020

    I’m not going to lie, I have to try it! Looks very interesting! Thanks!

    • Matthew Woodward
      September 7th, 2020 at 10:55 am

      Great! Try it and tell me how it goes!
      Would love to hear your feedback.

  12. mohsin
    9.3.2020

    hye Mat

    this is good thought and i really inspire good job keep it up

    • Matthew Woodward
      September 4th, 2020 at 9:07 am

      Thank Mohsin!

  13. Hitesh
    9.1.2020

    Migrating from Yoast SEO Premium to Rank math! But… Did you find any feature that Rankmath lacks and still better in Yoast premium?
    Help me out, please..

    • Matthew Woodward
      September 2nd, 2020 at 9:38 am

      To be honest, nop – Rank Math does a pretty good job.

  14. alisbha khan
    9.1.2020

    I love this article it’s amazing and inspiring

    • Matthew Woodward
      September 2nd, 2020 at 9:48 am

      Thank you Alisbha.

  15. Dev
    8.30.2020

    Thanks for the information
    I hope this will help me

    • Matthew Woodward
      August 31st, 2020 at 9:30 am

      No problem Dev!

  16. Abhay Gautam
    8.28.2020

    Hi Matthew,

    Awesome Post! I am great fan of your website and the case studies you publish on this. After reading this indepth post i am pretty much sure that RankMath SEO Plugin is way far better than Yoast SEO plugin. I totally agree with you that installing too many can slow down your website and here Rankmath does a great with lots of inbuilt features like Redirection, AMP and Analytics.

    Whereas while using Yoast plugin we need to install different plugins for doing AMP, Redirection and analytics. Thanks for sharing…

    Cheers,
    Abhay

    • Matthew Woodward
      August 28th, 2020 at 2:08 pm

      Thank you for your comment Abhay!
      Keep up the good work!

  17. Olivier Mamet
    8.19.2020

    Check out SEO Press. Premium is a one payment unlimited use and the depth is pretty good.

    • Matthew Woodward
      August 21st, 2020 at 9:16 am

      I will – thanks for the suggestion Olivier

  18. Rajan
    8.19.2020

    best article thanks for sharing with us

    • Matthew Woodward
      August 19th, 2020 at 10:20 am

      No problem, Rajan!

  19. Shihab
    8.17.2020

    That’s right information!! No need for extra Payment with yoast seo plugin.
    Thanks for sharing a great exprence!

    • Matthew Woodward
      August 17th, 2020 at 9:08 am

      No problem! Always happy to help!

  20. Shayur Maharaj
    8.14.2020

    Great piece with some compelling points.

    • Matthew Woodward
      August 14th, 2020 at 9:43 am

      Thanks, Shayur!

  21. CBM
    8.12.2020

    Thanks i using seo yoast with 3 add ons and now rank math handle alone for everything, Thanks for helping out take out time and share awesome review. have a great day

    • Matthew Woodward
      August 12th, 2020 at 12:42 pm

      No worries! Happy that Rank Math works well for you!

  22. Michael Evans
    8.11.2020

    It is worth to try using Rankmath, but to be sure we would apply in our non production site first.

    Thanks for sharing this Matthew!

    • Matthew Woodward
      August 12th, 2020 at 12:45 pm

      No problem, Michael! Thanks for reading.

  23. Jalaj Pandey
    8.10.2020

    I’m using Yoast plugin for SEO but I’ve also heard about RankMath plugin, and your article just cleared my all doubts, I’ll use rankmath on my new travel blog.
    Thanks for sharing :)

    • Matthew Woodward
      August 10th, 2020 at 10:06 am

      Hey Jalaj – Glad I helped you make the right decision!

  24. eduardo
    8.4.2020

    I was trying Rank Math at the start of building my website, but as a multilingual site (with translate press pro) I found that RankMath was not working perfectly. So I build with Yoast and (free option) and it looks to work fine. After reading your review I’m trying to come back to Rank Math but the plugin is not detecting my Yoast settings, so setup wizard starts from 0 and if I try to import before the setup wizard don’t take all data.

    • Matthew Woodward
      August 10th, 2020 at 10:43 am

      Hey Eduardo – Have you followed the process step by step? If you’re having issues, I suggest you send an email to Rank Math, they’ll help you out!

  25. lutfi
    7.31.2020

    thanks for the advice, my website has just switched to rank math.

    • Matthew Woodward
      July 31st, 2020 at 9:13 am

      Great news!

  26. Rabi
    7.27.2020

    Hi, Matt. Can I also follow the same steps here to migrate from All in One SEO free to Rank Math?

    • Matthew Woodward
      July 27th, 2020 at 10:32 am

      Hey Rabi – Yes, you can!

  27. Hasnain
    7.26.2020

    I agree with a lots of things here, Yoast was getting outdated. But there are not a lot many competitors for SEO Yoast…

    • Matthew Woodward
      July 27th, 2020 at 9:56 am

      Yes, you’re right! But Rank Math does perfectly the job – for free – so no need to look for hours for other competitors! ;)

  28. Paul
    7.23.2020

    I’m using Rankmath, not really fond of the Schema results though. And im also curious what Seopress can do :). Maybe in the next review ?

    • Matthew Woodward
      July 24th, 2020 at 10:56 am

      Hey Paul! Maybe, thanks for the suggestion!

  29. kumkum
    7.22.2020

    I think rank math is much better than Yoast for beginners or new bloggers…

    • Matthew Woodward
      July 24th, 2020 at 11:01 am

      Totally right!

  30. Larry Bohen
    7.21.2020

    Is there any value in deactivating Yoast SEO, rather than deleting it on my website while I activate and test Rank Math?

    • Matthew Woodward
      July 22nd, 2020 at 9:51 am

      Nop. I would suggest you follow my step by step process to have a successful migration!

  31. Binil P
    7.17.2020

    Rank Math does make a lot of difference in rankings. Have been using it for quite some time now. The results are pretty good.

    • Matthew Woodward
      July 20th, 2020 at 9:08 am

      Glad to hear that!
      keep up the good work!

  32. sunil sharma
    7.13.2020

    awsome guide matthew
    previously i was using yoast plugin but after reading your article i will go for rank math.
    thanks for such a informative guide.

    • Matthew Woodward
      July 13th, 2020 at 9:00 am

      Great news, Sunil! Let me how the switch goes!

  33. Glenn Freeman
    7.11.2020

    Great post. I switched from Yoast to Rank math about 6 months ago and I have never looked back.

    • Matthew Woodward
      July 13th, 2020 at 9:29 am

      Nice! You certainly made the right decision!

  34. nilkumar pal
    7.8.2020

    I really like this content, I have learned by reading this content

    • Matthew Woodward
      July 10th, 2020 at 9:48 am

      Glad to hear that!
      Hope you’ll apply what you’ve learned.

  35. Chris
    7.8.2020

    Thanks for you recommendation, Matthew. I have made the switch tp RankMath. It was easy to do and I found the Schema much easier to configure than All in One SEO.

    This should now eliminate the errors on my store pages that I was getting warnings about from Google.

    • Matthew Woodward
      July 10th, 2020 at 9:50 am

      Hey Chris. That’s good news!

  36. Ira
    7.8.2020

    Great review. Last month I did not renew my paid Squirrly SEO account and plugin and switched to RankMath. Much easier to use and does dig deeper. The best part, no charge.

    • Matthew Woodward
      July 8th, 2020 at 9:35 am

      Glad to hear that the switch was a success for you!

  37. Alexander
    6.28.2020

    Thanks Matthew for review. Did you try The SEO Framework plugin? I moved from Yoast to it several years ago and more than happy with it. It’s interesting to know your opinion.

    • Matthew Woodward
      June 29th, 2020 at 10:36 am

      Not yet, but I’ll have a look at it, for sure!
      Thanks for the suggestion, Alexander.

  38. Rob
    6.24.2020

    Matthew, do you only use Rank Math now and not SurferSEO? Or do you utilise both plugins?

    • Matthew Woodward
      July 3rd, 2020 at 10:59 am

      I only use Rank Math now.
      I recommend you to use this plugin on its own, and not combining it with other plugins, so there is no competition between the two tools, and your site isn’t slowed down.

    • thebestbackpack253
      July 8th, 2020 at 1:32 am

      Matthew… can u share information “Social media optimization”

      • Matthew Woodward
        July 8th, 2020 at 8:53 am

        Hey! If you’re interested in social media, then I recommend you to have a look here: https://www.matthewwoodward.co.uk/blogging/
        Scroll down a little and you’ll find a blue section called “Social Media & Email”.
        There you can find several articles on this topic.
        Hope it helps!

  39. Simon Waters
    6.23.2020

    Great article, many thanks Matthew. I’m looking at using Elementor page builder on my Genesis site and now see that Rank Math integrates well with this whereas Yoast doesn’t at all! Another reason I intend to swap.

    • Matthew Woodward
      June 24th, 2020 at 10:59 am

      Thank you, Simon!
      I’m glad I helped you to take your decision.
      Let us know how the swap goes!

  40. Contact Canon
    6.19.2020

    Thank you very much. I got very useful information. Thank you.

    • Matthew Woodward
      June 19th, 2020 at 8:51 am

      Thanks for reading!

  41. Joeboy
    6.17.2020

    Well I gave all to Yoast but today I must try this and see if I can come up at all. Thanks

    • Matthew Woodward
      June 17th, 2020 at 10:26 am

      Try and let us know how it goes!

  42. alireza123
    6.15.2020

    Its been a while since I switched to rank math and now im not having 2nd thoughts about it

  43. Oyeniyi Michael
    6.11.2020

    Very helpful, a friend actually invited me to check up your Article and it’s worth the time reading. thanks Matthew

    • Matthew Woodward
      June 12th, 2020 at 1:09 pm

      Thank you! I’m happy you enjoyed reading my article.

  44. carol
    6.9.2020

    your articles always help me for many SEO related problems

    • Matthew Woodward
      June 12th, 2020 at 1:44 pm

      Glad to hear that! Thanks Carol.

  45. Dax
    6.6.2020

    I have been a Yoast Premium user for a while now and have considered it one of the better SEO plugins out there. With Google Web Vitals expected in the near future, any help to keep time spent on SEO would be helpful.

    I noticed that you updated this post in March, no buyer’s remorse?

    • Matthew Woodward
      June 16th, 2020 at 5:36 am

      Non at all! Rank Math all the way :)

  46. Cha
    6.4.2020

    Thank you for sharing! This is a great help for those who want to improve their SEO.

    • Matthew Woodward
      June 5th, 2020 at 8:11 am

      Happy I could help.

  47. basant kumar
    6.4.2020

    Hi Matthew, After reading this about Rankmath.

    Am also being a fan of it and after here going to install on my blog.

    Thank you for this amazing article.

    • Matthew Woodward
      June 5th, 2020 at 8:11 am

      Great news! It’s a fantastic tool.

  48. Christopher Simmons
    5.24.2020

    Thanks for info. Going to give it a try. Sick of the new yoast versions with bug fixes, but new features with bugs so never a stable bug free version. Each new version needs four fixes to not cause issues. Hey…broken site is bad for seo! Also sick of intrusive popups on delete of post, or save permalinks you cannot remove. Or new usertype added when not needed, etc.

    • Matthew Woodward
      May 26th, 2020 at 3:47 am

      I’ve had no regrets from making the switch!

  49. Sam
    5.24.2020

    Hey Mat, love your stuff but please be honest – were you paid by the plugin developers to write this review?

    • Matthew Woodward
      May 26th, 2020 at 3:54 am

      No it wasn’t but even if it was a paid review it wouldn’t have changed the output. When I point out to companies asking me to write a review, that I will publish all my findings good and bad, I don’t usually hear back from about 75% of them.

  50. Michela
    5.23.2020

    This is the best Rank Math Plugin review I came across! I wish I had discovered it earlier on. 10 days ago I decided to swap from Yoast SEO Plugin to SEO PRESS (also free but with limited functionalities) and I haven’t really noticed any improvements so far. I’m really intrigued now by Rank Math as it looks like offering “paid features” for free, and would like to switch from SeoPress to Rank Math, the only doubt I have is, should I wait a bit longer before doing a second plugin switch in such a short time. Do you think I can do it? Thanks for your advice on this.

    • Matthew Woodward
      May 26th, 2020 at 4:04 am

      Yes of course, just make a backup of your site, then if you don’t like it, switch back!

  51. Alessio
    5.19.2020

    Finally decided to give it a try and really loving it so far.

    • Matthew Woodward
      May 19th, 2020 at 6:30 am

      Great decision Alessio :)

  52. Rajesh
    5.15.2020

    This post is just amazing. The way you explain everything about Rank math. I just switched to Rank Math yesterday & your post motivate me to use it more… Thanks!

    • Matthew Woodward
      May 15th, 2020 at 6:46 am

      Awesome, nice one Rajesh.

  53. stainless steel equipment
    5.15.2020

    Great tips, I have just started getting more serious about writing/blogging and anything that makes the best use of time is helpful!

  54. Romel Adhikary
    5.14.2020

    This is very helpful article and informative as well. Thank you so much for posting.

    • Matthew Woodward
      May 15th, 2020 at 6:54 am

      Happy I could help Romel

  55. Elang Alfarez
    5.8.2020

    Thank you so much, this plugin really offers what it doesn’t in Yoast SEO premium, plus I didn’t have to pay almost 100 bucks for plugins which aren’t that useful compared to this.

    • Matthew Woodward
      May 12th, 2020 at 7:07 am

      Yep it’ll make you money and save you money at the same time :)

  56. Jason
    5.7.2020

    I just switched over to rankmath from yoast. However I’m a little hesistant…I hope they don’t get everyone on it for free and then start charging….or reducing its capabilities until you pay a fee?

    • Matthew Woodward
      May 8th, 2020 at 10:52 pm

      They seem pretty trustworthy to me.

  57. Nielson Lowe
    5.7.2020

    Finally I am convinced with the features. It really better than Other SEO plugins.

    • Matthew Woodward
      May 8th, 2020 at 10:52 pm

      Agreed!

  58. venkatesh cs
    5.5.2020

    Thanks for sharing.

    • Matthew Woodward
      May 5th, 2020 at 4:56 am

      Hope you found the review useful.

  59. Palash
    4.28.2020

    Excellent review, currently I am using Rank Math on my blog. Good SEO plugin

    • Matthew Woodward
      April 29th, 2020 at 11:57 pm

      Glad you agree Palash :)

  60. indel
    4.24.2020

    thank you very much matt for this great tips, i am moving to rank-math today
    i didn’t believe it when my friend said rank math works well than Yoast. But with the point you listen am going for rank math

    • Matthew Woodward
      April 25th, 2020 at 11:29 pm

      Thanks – glad the article helped :)

  61. MissionEarn
    4.17.2020

    Thanks for the article. I think rankmath is gaining some weight.

    • Matthew Woodward
      April 19th, 2020 at 4:46 am

      It certainly is.

  62. Malik
    4.11.2020

    I used Yoast SEO for 6 years but i am happy with the migration rank math is the feature :)

    • Matthew Woodward
      April 14th, 2020 at 1:29 am

      It’s a great tool Malik!

  63. Paul David
    4.10.2020

    The truth about Rank Maths is that;

    It is entirely different from Yoast SEO.

    If you are planning to have a green light while writing you blog post;

    Rank Maths is the answer to that, unlike Yoast Plugin.

    It’s not that am downgrading or discouraging you from using Yoast Plugin.

    Rank Maths help you to setup your blog title that best satisfy search engine and human search.

    One good thing is themeta description tag.

    It calculate the length of your meta description writeup, by displaying it in numbers.

    Showing you a red bar if you write above 160 characters.

    Anything I like about Rank Maths, is the;

    Keywords bar.

    It has the ability to display long tail keywords.

    Like, when you type marketing startup;

    It will display;
    * Marketing startup
    * Marketing startup ideas
    * Marketing startup ideas agency

    But the problem is that, it will not give in deep of those keywords.

    That is what I can say about Rank Maths plugin for now.

    Setup Rank Maths is not as difficult as you think.

    I have use Yoast Plugin and it’s great.

    But after I started using MyThemeShop Plugin, and I discovered Rank Maths, that was when I decide to Leave Yoast Plugin for Rank Maths Plugin.

    • Matthew Woodward
      April 11th, 2020 at 1:45 am

      Thanks for sharing your experience Paul.

  64. Theia Logan
    3.30.2020

    love it, really really amazing.

    • Matthew Woodward
      March 31st, 2020 at 3:08 am

      Certainly is a great tool.

  65. crack sumo
    3.19.2020

    Great set of tips from the master himself. Excellent ideas.

    • Matthew Woodward
      March 21st, 2020 at 4:43 am

      Thanks very much!

  66. Appu
    3.16.2020

    Rank Math is really a killer plugin when compared to Yoast & others. Moreover it’s a free plugin offering pro features. Most of the premium features offered by Yoast SEO is available for free in Rank Math. Easy to setup & very good user interface. I have been using Rank Math from past 6 months. Really liked it over other SEO plugins.

    • Matthew Woodward
      March 17th, 2020 at 8:48 am

      Glad to hear you are having a great experience with Rank Math too !

  67. gethome toolos
    3.1.2020

    Hi Matt
    Great read and a surprising one too! Thanks for sharing these article.

    • Matthew Woodward
      March 3rd, 2020 at 9:25 am

      No worries!

  68. James
    2.27.2020

    Can someone point me to one major website who made the switch from Yoast and can show via Google Analytics any traffic improvement over time?

  69. Ankit
    2.24.2020

    Hi,
    thanks for such an informative piece of content…
    I was using yoast seo on my site for a long time but now i think i will switch to rank math

    • Matthew Woodward
      February 25th, 2020 at 12:02 am

      Hope it goes well Ankit

  70. Hamro Doctor
    2.23.2020

    Thanks for sharing your idea.

    • Matthew Woodward
      February 25th, 2020 at 12:07 am

      Happy to help.

  71. Scout
    2.17.2020

    I was using Yoast free and even then it felt clunky and outdated (and I hated having to scroll to the bottom of a 2,000 word post every time I needed to check something).

    I can’t get over how good RankMath is. My posts are taking longer to write, but they’re better posts now, and my blog is going to do better for it. Now if only we can find a free, decent keyword research tool! ;)

  72. Nikola Roza
    2.14.2020

    Hi Matthew;
    thanks for this tutorial.
    I plan to switch to Rank Math really soon, and it will come in handy.

    I was hesitant because I didn’t want to mess up my SEO but you gave me the idea to track what’s happening with a Google spreadsheet.

    Very cool:)

    • Matthew Woodward
      February 16th, 2020 at 8:45 am

      Good luck Nikola!

  73. Vikas
    2.12.2020

    Very informative………thanks for sharing

    • Matthew Woodward
      February 16th, 2020 at 8:48 am

      No problem Vikas :)

  74. Ishan
    2.7.2020

    I would definitely love to try this tool. It looks promising with features to improve posts.

    • Matthew Woodward
      February 8th, 2020 at 8:41 am

      I was very impressed when I made the switch

  75. Maggie Mac
    2.6.2020

    Changed from Yoast to Rank Math a week ago. I had been sitting on third and fourth position on all my keywords for about a year. Within a week went to no 1 position. I only found this tool when I looked at the no 1 ranking for my keywords and noticed they used Rank Math. I researched it and thought why not I can always go back to Yoast. Best move I have made.

    • Matthew Woodward
      February 8th, 2020 at 8:44 am

      Haha fantastic news Maggie :)

  76. Shawon
    2.5.2020

    Obliviously rankmath is best.
    I was use rankmath on my clients websites..They are awesome.

    • Matthew Woodward
      February 6th, 2020 at 5:07 am

      Yup, very true

  77. Entrümpelung Wien
    1.31.2020

    Useful Information for SEO. Thanks for sharing

    • Matthew Woodward
      February 1st, 2020 at 2:44 am

      No worries- happy to help

      • The 'Staunch
        February 2nd, 2020 at 2:06 am

        Thanks for this review on RankMath. I just started using it after reading your content.

        • Matthew Woodward
          February 4th, 2020 at 6:10 am

          Great news – hope you like it as much as I do :)

  78. Niharika Sharma
    1.30.2020

    Very nice review, Matthew, After reading your review. I have installed Rank Math on one of my website and I was able to import all the setting from the yoast premium and also from Schema Pro plugin. This free plugin doing the work of two premium WordPress plugin. My website had close to couple of thousands of pages. All the SEO settings were imported in less than five minutes. I am going to install Rank Math Plugin on my other WordPress websites.

    • Matthew Woodward
      February 1st, 2020 at 2:44 am

      Great news Niharika! It’s such a great tool considering it’s free!

  79. william johnson
    1.24.2020

    interesting information…..

    • Matthew Woodward
      January 24th, 2020 at 11:07 pm

      Thanks William

  80. jhon
    1.21.2020

    You gave us lots of information, along with examples that are very helpful for me. Thank you so much for sharing.

    • Matthew Woodward
      January 21st, 2020 at 3:12 am

      Glad you found this review helpful :)

  81. Kuldeep
    1.19.2020

    I also shift to Rankmath and find it very useful. They are doing really great job.

    • Matthew Woodward
      January 21st, 2020 at 3:22 am

      Glad to hear it Kuldeep.

  82. Johnny Ringo
    1.18.2020

    Been using Rankmath for months now. Absolutely love it and the team is very responsive and professional. I want to buy the Pro when it comes to simply support all their hard work.

    • Matthew Woodward
      January 21st, 2020 at 3:34 am

      Great feedback thanks Johnny and I’ll definitely be purchasing it too :)

  83. Henry V
    1.17.2020

    Great post. I tested a few different SEO plugins last year and liked Rankmath so much I started using it on a few of my own sites. I love the rich snippet part, it just works.

    • Matthew Woodward
      January 17th, 2020 at 11:37 pm

      Cheers Henry – I’m very glad I made the switch :)

  84. Julieanne
    1.16.2020

    Matt, I’m so glad I found you! I just came across your work maybe 2 months ago and so much has changed in my SEO work since then. You’re the best. Excited to try this as all your other suggestions have worked so well too.

    • Matthew Woodward
      January 16th, 2020 at 11:05 pm

      Hey Julieanne, that’s great to hear my blog has been helping shape your SEO strategy! And I’m sure you won’t be disappointed with Rank Math either.

  85. Ronak.
    1.16.2020

    Hey Matthew

    Your blog posts are the coolest.

    What are the specific affiliate and traffic WordPress plugins you use?

    Ronak.

  86. Dave Sweney
    1.16.2020

    I am sold and have shared this within my Facebook groups and elsewhere on the various platforms that I operate for online marketers. Thanks and this is yet another no-brainer!

    Cheers!
    Dave

  87. makcurtains
    1.13.2020

    Great job. thanks for posting your blog. It’s useful for me.

    • Matthew Woodward
      January 16th, 2020 at 11:34 pm

      No worries – glad I could help :)

  88. nasıl kurulur
    1.12.2020

    good article thanks im using yoast seo, yoast is the best plugin for wordpress

    • Matthew Woodward
      January 16th, 2020 at 11:45 pm

      Have you tried Rank Math?

  89. Emmanuel Akaniru
    1.10.2020

    I have been using yoast for a while now and it will be hard for me to switch to rank maths.

    • Matthew Woodward
      January 17th, 2020 at 12:06 am

      Why?

  90. Michael
    1.10.2020

    Your review motivated me to try this plugin on one of the websites. As long as I like it. Thank you!

    • Matthew Woodward
      January 17th, 2020 at 12:04 am

      Let me know what you think Michael.

  91. Freelance service
    1.7.2020

    Thanks for the information, I will try using rank math instead of yoast seo

    • Matthew Woodward
      January 17th, 2020 at 11:19 pm

      Great decision!

  92. Komolafe Timileyin
    1.6.2020

    Thanks for the article Matt, i’m really confused right now because i have been using yoast for thr past one year but i’ll try out rank Math to see if it truly works for me.
    Thanks again

    • Matthew Woodward
      January 17th, 2020 at 11:13 pm

      You got nothing to lose!

  93. Hemanth
    1.6.2020

    The Post is very interesting and useful. Thanks for posting…

    • Matthew Woodward
      January 17th, 2020 at 10:47 pm

      Glad I could help Hemanth

  94. Yılmaz Saraç
    1.4.2020

    Absolutely I agree. I’ve been using Rank Math for over a year and I’m very pleased. After I started using Rank Math, I started to believe I was robbed by Yoast for years.

    • Matthew Woodward
      January 17th, 2020 at 10:50 pm

      Rank Math are certainly taking the lead

  95. GoGamr
    1.1.2020

    I was using Yoast, but one a I tried Rank Math, i still using this because of its features. Yoast’s main features comes in paid plugin but Rank Math providing this all for free.

    • Matthew Woodward
      January 17th, 2020 at 11:08 pm

      It’s a no brainer for sure.

  96. Zanta
    12.28.2019

    Hi there,

    Really great content ! I absolutely concur with your investigation, I additionally changed to RankMath. There’s one thing that you should be cautious on the off chance that you are changing from All In One SEO. RankMath doesn’t have a Google Analytics code work, so ensure you embed your following code physically, else you will get a huge zero on your traffic.

    Thanks for sharing effective content………..

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 28th, 2019 at 7:36 am

      Thanks very much for the advice Zanta.

  97. Ezekiel
    12.27.2019

    I just came to read about the best SEO plugins since I enjoy reading your articles, and boom… it’s RankMaths.

    I once switched from Yoast Premium to RankMaths, but had to switch back, reason been that how can a FREE plugin be better than a premium one.

    But then I created a poll in a Facebook booggers group between Yoast and RankMaths, and of course RankMaths won :)

    I guess with this, it’s a complete switch for me.

    But Matt, are you really using RankMaths for this site?

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 27th, 2019 at 6:39 am

      I certainly aim using RankMath – made the switch a while back and gave it some time to see how it performed before publishing this review.

  98. Suman Gaudel
    12.25.2019

    Thank you for this awesome article. I had shifted my site a couple of month ago and still doubted that whether I did it right or sud I shift back to yoast? this article cleared things up. Thanks

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 26th, 2019 at 12:23 am

      Happy I could give you peace of mind Suman :)

  99. Tina
    12.23.2019

    its so helpful
    I have a lash extensions blog and I increased visitors for many thousand in just 6 months, because Im uploading lashes tipps every day.
    thank you for the advice. hope it gets even bigger now

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 24th, 2019 at 3:45 am

      Best of luck Tina!

  100. tali bagus
    12.22.2019

    Thank you for sharing information, useful for me

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 24th, 2019 at 3:41 am

      Glad you found this useful :)

  101. Chris Vasilopoulos
    12.20.2019

    I just did the switch from yoast premium to rank math. I managed to do it in less than 3 minutes. I mean everything went so smooth. I am re-running a SEO Audit with semrush now, to see if anything shows wrong. If all look good I am going to apply this to more sites.

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 24th, 2019 at 4:00 am

      Glad to hear it Chris!

  102. Julia alan
    12.19.2019

    Hi Matthew! I agree your analysis. Thanks a lot for this information.

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 24th, 2019 at 4:08 am

      Happy I could help Julia :)

  103. Samar
    12.18.2019

    Rank Math is awesome, no doubt about it.

    But let me talk about their support team, OMG..

    Trust me, they are better than even the paid ones.

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 24th, 2019 at 4:08 am

      Awesome feedback – thanks for sharing Samar!

  104. Marcus Ollison
    12.17.2019

    Great article, I’ve used Rankmath for a couple of years now. Very good plugin, haven’t had any issues. Unfortunately Yoast was giving my website a lot of problems.

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 18th, 2019 at 2:54 am

      Thanks for the feedback Marcus!

  105. Angel
    12.17.2019

    I started using Rank Math early last year when they first launched and since then, I have nlt tried any other plugin.

    They are good.

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 18th, 2019 at 2:52 am

      Agreed

  106. Renaud Demaret
    12.17.2019

    I was a big fan of yoast seo, then begin change my mind when they killed free version by remove almost all free tools.
    Then i naturally discovered rank math as alternative, advice it to my friends that also prefer it.

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 18th, 2019 at 2:56 am

      It’s a great tool Renaud!

  107. Vadim
    12.17.2019

    Yes i am use it also.Very good plugin.

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 18th, 2019 at 2:56 am

      Indeed it is!

  108. Wealthy Place
    12.17.2019

    Wooooo, thanks Matt. I saw your email some hours ago. I was excited ut worried at first. Before now I wanted to ditch Yoast for RankMAth but was afraid of losing ranking for my site. Gladly I found I could migrate without losing nothing. I just did.

    Thanks for the guifer ans spread sheet (even though I didn’t use it, lol).

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 18th, 2019 at 2:52 am

      Glad I could clear up any concerns :)

  109. jorge
    12.17.2019

    Using rankmath months ago and very happy with it and their support!

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 18th, 2019 at 2:50 am

      Glad to hear it Jorge

  110. Jose
    12.17.2019

    I’m using the paid version of Yoast for one client but will try out Rank Math on other client sites as I’ve been hearing positive things about them for a while now. It’s worth a look while its still free ;-)

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 18th, 2019 at 2:58 am

      Definitely worth it Jose!

  111. Tufan
    12.17.2019

    I’m thinking of trying

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 17th, 2019 at 8:26 am

      Make a backup of your site, if you don’t like it – roll it back!

  112. Femstic Marketing Media
    12.17.2019

    This is interesting Mathew,
    I will try it out if it will help my Ranking.
    Thanks

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 17th, 2019 at 8:26 am

      No problem!

  113. Shabu
    12.17.2019

    Looks good, will give it a try. Thank you Matt :)

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 17th, 2019 at 8:27 am

      No problem Shabu!

  114. eriq elikplim
    12.17.2019

    I’ve always wanted to move from Yoast and try something new but didn’t know any better alternative. Recently, I’ve been hearing positive reviews about RankMath. This guide right here will help me take a decision.

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 17th, 2019 at 8:27 am

      Great plugin and most importantly – great support!

  115. Yusuf Bitrus
    12.17.2019

    Awesome review on Rank Maths, I think it’s high time I make the switch as well.

    Although I did few months ago and had some issues with the setup, however your guide will help do what’s necessary.

    I’m wearing my black for the funeral Yoast…

    Thank you Matthew Woodword

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 17th, 2019 at 8:27 am

      What problems did you have?

  116. DAN
    12.17.2019

    Great review Matt have you tried their instant index addon with rank math. I notice that it really does work here is the link

    https://rankmath.com/blog/google-indexing-api/

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 17th, 2019 at 8:27 am

      Yes it’s running on this blog

  117. Reece
    12.17.2019

    Hi Mathew
    Thanks for the great tip.
    Just a quick question, why do you say it is not recommended for rankmath to set up your alt tags automatically?
    At the moment I have a plug in that whenever i save an image it automatically transfers the image name to my alt tags.

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 17th, 2019 at 8:28 am

      Because Alt tags are meant to be descriptive text of the image and offer additional SEO opportunities you should retain full control of

  118. Joy Okoro
    12.17.2019

    You’re right! No need for extra Payment with yoast.
    I’m currently using Rank Math and I’m happy I did that.

    Thanks for the awesome post. You just reminded me I took a good decision.

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 17th, 2019 at 8:28 am

      Great minds or something like that!

  119. Israel olabanji
    12.17.2019

    Thank you for this details review!
    Seeing SEO EXPERT like you using RANK MATH makes it a better alternative.

    I move from Yoast recently to rank math and I have seen a great improvement in a few months. 2 months to be precise. It was a great achievement for me this year.

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 17th, 2019 at 8:29 am

      Well its unlikely that moving from Yoast to RankMath or vice versa would have a big impact on search traffic but there’s being a number of Google updates making people happy

  120. Adeniyi
    12.17.2019

    This is something worth checking and if it is as good as you say, it is safe to say this is going to disrupt the industry like any good product does.

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 17th, 2019 at 8:29 am

      They’ve been disrupting it for a while

  121. Peter Nyiri
    12.17.2019

    I totally agree with your analysis, I also switched to RankMath. There’s one thing that you need to be careful if you are switching from All In One SEO. RankMath doesn’t have a Google Analytics code function, so make sure you insert your tracking code manually, otherwise you will get a big fat zero on your traffic…

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 17th, 2019 at 8:30 am

      Ahhh good extra tip, I am using MonsterInsights for my GA so that didn’t wobble me (which ironically used to be a Yoast product)

  122. innsbruck
    12.17.2019

    I’m not going to lie, I have to try it! Looks very interesting! Thanks!

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 17th, 2019 at 8:30 am

      Let us know how you get on!

  123. Sridhar
    12.17.2019

    Yes, RankMath is certainly the better plugin. I also shifted from Yoast to Rank Math for my website https://newerajobs.com and it is now performing much better.

    Lot’s of Results are now showing Rich Snippets.

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 17th, 2019 at 8:30 am

      Good job Sridhar!

  124. David Chege
    12.17.2019

    Hi Matthew! Thanks a lot for this information. But isn’t it easier to just delete SEO yoast and then install rank math instead of migration?

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 17th, 2019 at 8:31 am

      Not unless you want to manually set everything up again

  125. Pankaj
    12.17.2019

    Thanks Matthew, actually I was looking for best Seo plugin from few days and I was also ready to pay few bucks if I got any good plugin.

    But as you are telling rankmath is all the features as Yoast premium have than thank you man to save some of my money to invest on any seo plugin.

    If it is really provide such information free as compare to Yoast premium I would definitely give it a try.

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 17th, 2019 at 8:31 am

      Yes I am sure you won’t be disappointed

  126. Stacey
    12.17.2019

    I’m using RankMath it serving me well and I’ll Shift all my other sites to RankMath
    I Love the feature of SEO score

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 17th, 2019 at 8:31 am

      What were you using before?

      • Stacey
        December 17th, 2019 at 12:05 pm

        I’m using Yoast on other sites but I installed RankMath as a test on my new site and I’m loving it so far

        I also used All in One SEO Pack for some time but I didn’t like it so moved back to yoast but looks like now I got my winner

        • Matthew Woodward
          December 18th, 2019 at 2:57 am

          Yep RankMath is certainly the leading tool right now :)

  127. Zahra
    12.17.2019

    We’ll pay $89 because RankMath will probably sell our info away… Who owns RankMath btw?

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 17th, 2019 at 8:32 am

      What makes you think that? Yoast has being in the headlines for the wrong reasons many times recently.

      RankMath is owned by https://mythemeshop.com/

  128. Harshwardhan Kusumakar
    12.16.2019

    This is very interesting. Since years Yoast has been my go to plugin but i always felt limited with it. Now would switch to RankMath. Thanks for putting this up Matthew.

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 17th, 2019 at 8:33 am

      Please let me know how you find it!

  129. Philip Verghese Ariel
    12.16.2019

    Hi Matt
    Great read and a surprising one too!
    So sad you ditched a longtime friend! :-)
    Anyways it’s looks like for a better interaction and business. :-)
    I have been using Yoast for a longtime now.
    Though the migration looks like a bit complicated one I think your guide will guide to fix it.
    Will surely try this too.
    Do we need to uninstall the existing Yoast before the migration or uninstall after the migration?
    I am bookmarking it for my use.
    Thanks Matt for this indepth guide.
    Season’s Greetings from Philipscom India.
    ~ Phil

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 17th, 2019 at 8:33 am

      The migration is done in literally a couple of clicks of the mouse, it really is hard to do it wrong so don’t worry!

  130. Ken moo
    12.16.2019

    I always thought its a hype. With its band of loyal followers. Almost like a cult. Your review made me want to switch. Just the part on speed, I’m sold!

    • Matthew Woodward
      December 17th, 2019 at 8:33 am

      There’s a reason they have built up a band of followers

What are your thoughts?

* Name, Email, Comment are Required
430 Shares
Share417
Tweet13
Share