PLEASE SHARE

One of the topics I have never really covered on the blog is how to do keyword research properly. It is really easy once you know how especially with today's Long Tail Pro review & tutorial!

I'm going to reveal a bunch of high traffic keywords with next to no competition, most of them have multiple results ranking with zero links - one of which pays $500 commission.

At the same time you are going to learn how to do keyword research the right way - by the end of this tutorial you will have discovered all of the easy to rank for keywords in your niche.

I'm going to show you how to do all of this & more using the Long Tail Pro keyword research tool. It is a heavily battle tested tool that was originally launched in 2011 and is used by over 70,000 marketers around the world.

Are you ready to discover every single easy to rank for high traffic keyword in your niche?

What You Will Learn​

  • How to do keyword research properly
  • How to find high traffic low competition keywords easily
  • How to find easy to rank for keywords in competitive niches
  • How to find all of the buyer keywords in your niche
  • How to easily analyse the top 10 results to gauge competition
  • BONUS: download 347 high traffic low competition keywords instantly

Review Summary.


Product Name:

Long Tail Pro

Product Type:

Keyword research software

Price:

$37

Long Tail Pro makes keyword research easy by finding all the high traffic, low competition keywords in any niche.

Long Tail Pro Review & Keyword Research Tutorial

This Long Tail Pro review is broken down into 3 pieces-

  1. Updated Review: Watch this first!  It takes you through 3 major changes in Long Tail Pro since I published the original video review
  2. Video Review: This is the main Long Tail Pro review & tutorial that teaches you how to find low competition, high traffic keywords
  3. Text Review: If you don't like watching videos, there is a text & image version of the video review
  • Updated REview
  • Video Review
  • TEXT REVIEW
  • BONUS #1

Don’t Like Videos? Read This Instead!

Today's tutorial is about Long Tail Pro, a tool that helps you easily research profitable keywords.

With this software, you'll learn how to find less competitive keywords in competitive niches, how to properly do keyword research, how to turn your research into profit and analyze the top ten results for any keyword.

You'll also see why I think Long Tail Pro is the best keyword research tool out there.

Long Tail Pro Interface

So let's jump right into it. Here's version 3 of the Long Tail Pro Interface. It was launched back in 2011 and now over 70,000 SEOs use it including me.

Long Tail Pro interface

To get started, go up to the top right corner, click on Settings and link your Google and Moz account.

You can also tweak the various options in there.

Long Tail Pro settings

After you finish setting that up, you can start adding new projects. Click on the left corner plus icon to create new projects and input the language, target country and search network.

You can see below the keyword search bar are all the keywords I've looked up in a project and the results are displayed in the main window with filters like local and global searches, advertiser competition and average keyword competitiveness on top.

new project

Now let's take a look at the keywords I've already looked up so you can see how it all works!

Keyword Investigation

To get started, click on Find Keywords and input the information you're looking for.

They have options to pre-filter the keyword and look up other features such as domain availability and global search volume.

Finding keywords with LongTailPro

For all the examples I'm going to show you, I added my seed keyword without any filters.

You can see all the keywords I've already investigated down the left hand side to help me decide what to write for my next blog post.

By using keyword research for my content strategy, this will help my post rank higher and drive more search traffic.

For example, let's say I want to write an article about link building but I'm not too sure on what exactly I should write about.

keyword list

I can use Long Tail Pro to look up the keyword "link building" and find a bunch of different related keywords to get ideas for my article.

Under the average keyword competitiveness column, you can see how competitive a related keyword is with its assigned score.

calculate keyword competition

And as you can see for the keyword "search engine marketing" we have an average competitiveness of 66 out of 100. I normally recommend targeting keywords under 45.

If you click on the keyword, it'll bring up the top ten results from Google including the website, page authority, page links and other things like that.

compare top 10 search results

If you find a keyword that catches your attention, you can mark it as a favorite or add notes to remember it for later.

I noticed the keyword "backlink generator" has a competitiveness of only 29 so I made a note to use this as a seed keyword.

Compared to the keyword "free SEO tools" which has a competitiveness of 59 with 3600 global searches, the backlink generator keyword is easier to rank for and that's how you find out which keyword will be profitable or not.

So as you can tell, the information the tool provides us is incredibly useful. Here's another example why it's important to research keywords.

Let's take a look at the keyword "pbn" Now to you and me, this means private blog network and we can see that it has a score of 40 which isn't super competitive but not super low either.

However, when you click on the keyword you'll see why this keyword isn't a good one to use.

keyword analysis

As you can see the top sites ranking for pbn aren't actually about private blog networks at all.

In fact you can see results for Pacific Business News and Pacific Broadband Networks. Not what we want!

Finding Profitable Keywords

Now I'm going to show you how I use Long Tail Pro to find profitable keywords, even in the most competitive niches.

make money online keyword research

You can see above that I've already favorited five different keywords that I think are excellent options.

These are how to make extra money, how to make money on the internet, earn money from home, how to make money from home and how to make money online for teens.

In this day and age, teenagers have grown up with the internet so this is a keyword that can be very profitable.

Teach them how to start a blog, offer your affiliate link for hosting companies and there you go.

Another keyword I'm looking at is keyword research which I'm going to use for a post to go alongside this one. I've starred the keywords "best keyword research tool" and "how to do keyword research."

keyword research results example

Even though I don't recommend targeting keywords over 45, the type of long form blog post I write and the authority my blog has gives me a fair chance against the top results.

Now let's say you want to look at the keywords you've favorited. Click on "Favorites" and it'll bring up the list of all the ones you marked so you can easily go through them.

favorite keywords list

Click on the average keyword competitiveness column to rank them from low to high to see which ones are the easiest to rank for.

If you take a look, you'll see the keyword "infusion soft" with a space has a score of 29 and almost 3000 searches a month.

This is a great keyword to use since it's low competition and Infusionsoft pays nearly a thousand dollars in commission.

Only brand websites are in the top results such as Facebook, Youtube and Twitter so there is definitely room for us in there.

Another example is get response with a space.

This also has low competition and GetResponse pays a nice affiliate commission as well.

Their top results are similar to the Infusion soft results with Facebook and Twitter in there.

keyword example

Long Tail Pro really makes it easy to find profitable keywords and ones you may have never even thought about as you can see in the examples above.

Finding Keywords In Any Niche

Everything I talked about so far has to do with internet marketing but Long Tail Pro works well for other niches too.

Let's take a look at my second project which focuses on some different niches.

looking in different niches

I looked up the keyword "dog leash" and sorted it by competitiveness.

Straight away you can see "embroidered dog collars" with a score of 28 and 2400 searches a month. Easy to rank for or use as a seed keyword to find even more possibilities.

You can seriously use this tool for any type of keyword. I searched for memory foam mattress to get these results.

mattress keyword example

"Full size mattress dimensions" is an excellent keyword with a competitiveness score of 18 but almost 10,000 searches a month.

You can definitely do some damage with that if you have an e-commerce store that sells mattresses.

Another one I searched for is "fitness watch" since these are getting pretty popular lately. The best one I found was "fitness watch for women" with a score of 32 and almost 3,000 monthly searches.

To make this search even more useful, you can filter them.

We know that people are interested in fitness watches when they search for them but you can target the ones actually looking to buy one by filtering with the word "best."

best fitness watches

This way we know these people have already decided they want to buy one and are looking for the best one to get.

Another way to do this is filter with the word "review." Anyone who is looking to buy one is probably going to want to read a review first.

"Cheap" is another word to filter with since you know these people want to buy one and are looking for something in their budget.

And of course the most obvious one, "buy."

Now moving onto my next seed keyword, marathon training.

Marathons and competitions of these sorts are also pretty popular and as you can see there are some pretty easy keywords to rank for in there.

Marathons keyword research example

So now that I've shown you the interface and my own projects, I'll show you how you can start your own from scratch.

But first, let me show you how they actually calculate keyword competitiveness.

Calculating Keyword Competitiveness

Keyword competitiveness is a calculation of page authority +/- page title factor +/- keywords in domain factor +/- domain length.

Page authority is a combination of several factors like site age, domain authority, social signals, juice page links, and other things like that.

I could go into a whole post about these terms so visit this post to learn more about each of the factors.

But if you just want to know if a keyword is a worth targeting, check out this chart.

keyword competition chart

Creating Your Own Projects

I briefly went over this in the beginning but to create your own keyword research, click on the plus icon and enter in your project title, the language, if you want to include adult ideas which I do, target country and search network.

Click Create Project and then Find Keywords.

Enter a few seed keywords for Long Tail Pro to find up to 800 related keywords and data about them.

You can also enter in pre-filters but I like to do this later so I leave them at default. One option I do make sure to tick is the Global Search Volume and the other ones are optional.

For this example I'm going to use "camping" as my keyword and enter in hammock and portable bbq for my seed keywords.

Click Generate Keywords and Fetch Data to get your results.

camping keyword research example

Now that you have all your results, you can make it easier to go through them by adding the filters.

I like to filter the Local and Global Searches with a minimum of 1000 and the Domain Availability if I was looking for that and use those to find ones that spark your interest.

Click on the Calculate button to find the competitiveness score and when you've gone through all the ones you want to look at, arrange them from high to low for easy viewing.

hammock keyword research example

So here's our hammock results and right away you can see there are loads of keywords that would be excellent to rank for.

"Best hammock" has a score of only 32 and in its top ten results, only 5 of them have juice links which makes it a great commercial keyword to rank for.

I did the same thing with portable bbq which you can see the results for below.

portable bbq keyword research example

Surprisingly the most commercial keyword "bbq for sale" has the lowest competitiveness score so that is something you can jump on right away easily.

So this is how you can use Long Tail Pro to find profitable keywords and create a content strategy to rank for low competition keywords with decent search volume.

Other Handy Tools

You can also use Long Tail Pro a couple of other ways. Say you have an idea of what you want to write about so enter it in the search bar below Find Keywords.

I searched for "how to advertise on Facebook" and Long Tail Pro found all the data for the top ten sites ranking for that keyword. This gives you a quick look at what the competition is.

facebook advertising quick competition check

You can look at all the ones you searched for under "My Own Keywords."

Another useful tool is Rank Checker. I searched for the same keyword since I wrote a dedicated post to advertising on Facebook and I want to see how I rank.

long tail pro rank checker

I'm currently ranking 12 on Google and 16 on Bing for my Facebook advertising post where I used Long Tail Pro to find relevant keywords to insert in my content.

Wrapping It Up

As you can see it is really easy to find high traffic keyword with low competition using Long Tail Pro.

I showed you one earlier that has a $1000 affiliate commission!

It's also easy to learn and use so anyone can take advantage of it. It also lets you see who your competition is and the current top ten results for any keyword in any niche.

It is certainly a great tool and if you don't like it, you have a 30 day money back guarantee so give it a try and see how it works for you.

EXCLUSIVE LONG TAIL PRO DISCOUNT.

Long Tail Pro is so popular with my readers that I've negotiated an exclusive discount for you!

Save 33% off Long Tail Pro & get FREE ACCESS to Long Tail University worth $197

Long Tail Pro Frequently Asked Questions

Is Long Tail Pro suitable for me?

Is there a free trial available?

How many computers can I use Long Tail Pro on?

What countries & languages does Long Tail Pro support?

Will Long Tail Pro work on a Mac?

Long Tail Pro Conclusion.

As you have seen, Long Tail Pro makes it really easy to find keywords with low competition and high search volume, especially ones with commercial value.

It is easy for anyone to use & saves a huge amount of time with keyword research and competitor analysis.  If you follow my tutorials you will find every high traffic, low competition keyword in your niche.


5/5

The Good Stuff:
  • Easy for anyone to use
  • It's fast & saves a lot of time
  • Easy to work out keyword competitiveness
  • Great for finding high traffic, low competition keywords
The Bad Stuff:
  • There is a recurring monthly cost
  • Calculating keyword competitiveness for 800 keywords takes 2 hours

You Might Also Enjoy...

233 Responses

  1. Jason
    7.16.2015

    ive got long tail pro and have used it for many years, it’s a great little tool to own, I’ve recently come across a new web based keyword research and competito analysing tool that is now my go to tool – it’s called niche genetics and if you like long tail pro then I would highly suggest you check niche genetics out.

    • July 16th, 2015 at 9:54 am

      Yeah I looked at that but it seemed like a cheap a** flakey product launch, I tend to stick with tools that have proven track records

      • April 30th, 2016 at 10:59 am

        Thanks Matthew! 😀

      • April 30th, 2016 at 1:32 pm

        Didn’t they have an affiliate link you could promote?

        • May 2nd, 2016 at 3:02 pm

          Yes but it was solely a JVZoo affiliate launch and had all the attached warning signs where as LongTailPro is time proven deploying updates for the past few years.

          • Michael W
            September 12th, 2016 at 6:14 am

            I took the plunge and really like it. I have long tail pro too but am slowly leaning more towards niche genetics.

          • September 13th, 2016 at 9:33 pm

            What makes you lean that way?

  2. Jim
    7.16.2015

    Hey Math,

    Where is the video transcript?

    • July 16th, 2015 at 9:59 am

      Coming soon :)

      • Anil Agarwal
        May 6th, 2016 at 11:20 am

        I personally use LTP and highly recommend for anyone who wants to find better keywords.

        We all know long tail keywords are generally give us more traffic.

        They are usually harder to find. But with LTP it’s really easy. Not only it’s smoother but also gives you low competitive keywords.

  3. Jim Hunter
    7.16.2015

    Agree with Matthew about Niche Genetics. Didn’t evaluate the product because of the calibre of the people who were promoting it. LTP Pro 3.0 is launching right now and look who is promoting it-top tier marketers. LTP Pro has 70,000 users. Enough said.

    • July 16th, 2015 at 10:08 am

      Yeah those types of products launch, make a bunch of money then support is non-existent and over time the software is abandoned and becomes unusable.

  4. 7.16.2015

    Hi Matthew,

    Great article again. I was just thinking why can’t I find an article of yours on keyword research and then boom here it is. Thanks again. On another subject are your articles on link building still relevant ?. As I have been guilty of as Brian Deane calls it the publish and pray method. I would really like to know what is method of choice for link building. Thanks again Ian.

  5. 7.16.2015

    Lots of really cool features with LTP. My attempts at keyword research haven’t been anywhere near as extensive as what you can do in LTP. I also like that you can get LTP without platinum for a one-time flat rate.

    • July 16th, 2015 at 3:56 pm

      Without Platinum is pretty pointless because then you don’t see the competitiveness score which as you can see, I rely on in the tutorial.

      • May 18th, 2016 at 7:39 am

        Hi Matthew,

        I just bought Long tail pro through your link, and so far it is very interesting. 2 things I wonder if you could shed some light on if you get a chance.

        1. How do I access Long Tail University once I’ve signed up to LTP?

        2. When you toggle the keyword drop-down to see the first 10 results for the keyword. The results are quite different from, say serps.com – I’m trying to figure out why.

        Many Thanks

        • May 19th, 2016 at 11:39 am

          Hey Luke,

          1) That should be delivered to you in a separate email, perhaps check your spam or ask LTP support?

          2) Can you show me an example please?

          • May 26th, 2016 at 5:56 pm

            1) Sorry, I thought I’d get an email when you replied. Long Tail University actually emailed a few hours after I wrote here, sorry about that. It takes about 24 hours for the access email to arrive.

            2) I will do tomorrow as it’s 1am here. I only noticed it when I tried it out on a search term I was familiar with; When there were no familiar results it seemed odd.

            Thanks for the reply though!

  6. Richard
    7.16.2015

    Hi Mathew,

    Thanks for the great tutorial! Really useful stuff :)

    In the video you mention it’s very doable to go after keywords with a Keyword Competition of 40 or lower.

    If we were going to target these keywords, what approach would you recommend? (after writing some quality content of course!) (Have been out of SEO for a while!)

    I know you have a lot of tutorials on your site but am just wondering what’s working well these days – have only gone after comparatively low search volume keywords so far so would appreciate a nod in the right direction!

    Many thanks and keep up the great work!

  7. 7.16.2015

    Hi Matthew, great review. Made me take another look at the product. One question: are you still in favour of exact match domains for niche sites? I know they are appealing on SERPs as they look very relevant, but I thought the EMD penalty made them harder to rank?

    • July 16th, 2015 at 3:50 pm

      I would rather go upstream and build a bigger site about a topic rather than a specific keyword personally

    • Don Savage
      July 16th, 2015 at 4:25 pm

      My experience with EMD is that a low volume EMD IS very easy to rank page one but when you try ranking one with100k monthly searches or more for the EMD it’s much harder to get page one.

      • July 16th, 2015 at 5:31 pm

        Well that’s more likely to be the fact that higher volume SERPS are inherently more competitive

  8. Bill M.
    7.16.2015

    Excellent video, Matt. Thank you for doing it.
    I bought the product through the link on your page.
    Thanks, again,
    Bill

  9. Munir Nathoo
    7.16.2015

    Been getting lots of emails for the New LTP recently and was really wanting to get it get for a long time but just didn’t like the monthly fee factor.

    Getting tired of MS, too slow, not as detailed and hasn’t been upgraded in years!

    This is the first time I’ve seen LTP at this price and with a one lifetime payment for Platinum!

    Just had to go for it!

    And besides I get all my IM tools only from Matthewwoodward.com so thanks a million Matt!

    • July 16th, 2015 at 3:49 pm

      Hahaha thanks Munir – if only I owned the .com :(

      • Munir Nathoo
        July 17th, 2015 at 5:08 am

        Whoops! Sorry my bad! :)

  10. Paul
    7.16.2015

    You Title reads: “Long Tail Pro Review” but you are reviewing the Platinum edition?

  11. Alvin B
    7.16.2015

    Mathew I just went through the LTPro Video tutorial, Awesome, that’s one I really need. You couldn’t have introduced it at a better time. Can you do a tutorial introducing us to a good Facebook and Twitter software?

  12. manaf
    7.16.2015

    Someone know if it works for other langages: German or French?

    Thanks.

  13. 7.16.2015

    Hi Matthew,

    I am a long term subscriber to this site so why do I have to register my e-mail with you again just to watch the video?

    • July 16th, 2015 at 5:33 pm

      You don’t, just click to skip

      • The Guy Who Flies
        July 17th, 2015 at 12:25 am

        Okay, great thanks.

  14. John
    7.16.2015

    You are doing a long tail pro review or long tail platinum review, I was about to buy then I realised the functionality on ‘platinum’ is not the same as “pro”. Are they essentially the same or?

  15. Laurie
    7.16.2015

    Hi Matt.

    Did I miss something or why does your copy of LTP has this “Keyword Competitiveness Calculation” feature but not mine?

    • July 16th, 2015 at 5:31 pm

      That is the Platinum edition

      • The Guy Who Flies
        July 17th, 2015 at 12:27 am

        Is it worth making clear in your presentation that people need to subscribe to Platinum when they sign up?

        The monthly fees with Platinum have until now always put me off buying Long Tail Pro and sticking with Market Samurai which is a one time payment.

        • July 17th, 2015 at 11:54 am

          The sales process informs you of what is included with each version but yes I could have made that more clear, I have always used Platinum as it seems like a no brainer to me!

      • Laurie
        July 17th, 2015 at 1:12 am

        I see… Pro isn’t that rich of features as your Platinum Edition.

        • July 17th, 2015 at 11:52 am

          Yes that’s generally how products work, there is a standard version and an upgraded version. Eg iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 plus.

  16. 7.16.2015

    Hi,

    Just a little confused over the platinum upgrade option. You don’t get all the details until you go through the upsell funnel I presume?

    Is platinum a one off upgrade fee and if so how much? Or a monthly fee of how much?

    Thanks,
    Dale.

    • July 17th, 2015 at 11:54 am

      I believe it’s a one time fee for the launch of version 3 this week (but don’t quote me on that) I bought it years ago and pricing structures change.

  17. Jon
    7.17.2015

    How does it (LTPro) compare with MicroNicheFinder?

    • July 17th, 2015 at 11:51 am

      They do similar things but MNF is very confusing/not user friendly in my opinion

  18. Reg
    7.17.2015

    I’ve bought and used just about everything under the sun.. Swissmade marketings product.. MS ..stealth jw analyzer.. Ilovegooglepage1 the list goes on. I used LTP platinum. The one I use is kw blaze. I bought it in 2012 and still goes to this day with Skype support is vgood if there’s any update issues. It has kw competirveness.. Moz rank ..fb likes.. A researcher.. And more quite powerful yet is free of mo.thly fees.

    • July 17th, 2015 at 11:49 am

      I haven’t heard of that one before will take a look, although I’m a “if its not broke don’t try to fix it” kinda guy

  19. 7.17.2015

    After reading Spencer Haws case study with his friend Perrin, Spencer said that “For Sale” is NO-NO keyword phrase because you are competing against e-commerce business and Sale is meaning sale on their merchandise.

    Can you say that you would go with for sale, no matter of e-commerce sites on all first 10 spots on #1 of Google?

    • July 17th, 2015 at 11:35 am

      Yeah I would target that personally eg-

      “BBQ for sale”

      is different than “BBQ Sale” or “BBQ on sale” – but even so I would still target the last 2 by doing a BBQ deals roundup type post that gets updated quarterly.

      • July 18th, 2015 at 1:48 am

        That is great Matt. Thank you for replay :)

        Take Care

  20. Dave
    7.17.2015

    Thanks for the great tutorial Matthew. Just purchased the platinum option through your link.

  21. Oscar
    7.17.2015

    Hi,

    What differences are there between LTP and Keword Research of Serped?

    Thanks

    • July 20th, 2015 at 10:28 am

      They are similar, if you have one then its unlikely you need the other

  22. 7.17.2015

    I remember seeing this way back in the day on BlackHatWorld. Good to know its more mainstream now.

  23. 7.18.2015

    Nice Tut. I’ve been holding off buying LTP for a while, but I need to take the plunge after seeing this video.

    These tools just keep piling up. Have you done a post of the top 10 tools you need to buy first when Internet Marketing?

    • July 20th, 2015 at 10:27 am

      Creating a post about the top 10 tools you need to buy would infer that everyone that starts internet marketing has the exact same strategy, which they don’t.

      If tools keep piling up, then your just p****** in the wind with no strategy – get a grip on your business.

  24. derek
    7.18.2015

    Hi Matt, how much is the platinum version, I looked on the sales page but didn’t see it?

    • July 20th, 2015 at 10:26 am

      At the current pricing I have no idea I have had it for years, I know they are in launch mode right now with lots of discounts and the platinum upsell is discounted but other than that I don’t know.

      I know that on Thursday prices go to their full price

  25. taifur
    7.18.2015

    hi!

    thanks for the best tutorial Matthew . i like your website article . My keyword research haven’t been anywhere near as extensive as what you can do in LTP.

  26. 7.18.2015

    Thanks for the complete information Matthew, Purchased it last week and now aiming to get full utilization of this awesome tool…

  27. Zdenek
    7.18.2015

    OK. I have clicked and wanted to buy, but there is no option to purchase Platinum version (after reading the comments I expected a special Platinum version for one-off price and not monthly payments), only Long Tail Pro. Am I missing something?

    • July 20th, 2015 at 10:25 am

      Yes that is the upsell I believe, although I haven’t being through the current funnel myself as I’ve had LTP for years

  28. 7.18.2015

    Is there anyway you can make the images of Long tail pro bigger. I wanted to watch the video fully but am unable to see any images properly. Also I am not able to make the video full size either.

    • July 20th, 2015 at 10:24 am

      Just click in the bottom right corner to watch in on YouTube – also YouTube optimizes the video based on bandwidth your end which can result in a lower quality stream

  29. Sourav Das
    7.19.2015

    I have been using the LTP for a while now. The major issue is it does not support captcha solvers or proxies. It keeps on asking to enter captchas too many number of times.

  30. Guy
    7.19.2015

    Great post but to be honest im working with this tool for many years and with my experience the competition numbers that you get from moz are not that correct. I have few clients that got keys between 20-30 competition and its not that easy to rank. I did quite a lot of stuff for these keywords and still didn’t got them to page one.

    • July 20th, 2015 at 10:21 am

      The competition number is just an indicator, if when you look at the backlink profiles in more detail they are solid then its going to be tougher. It’s far easier to go after those keywords with next to no links powering the rankings.

  31. 7.20.2015

    Thanks for the great review Mat! I really like LTP (and the price right now is great ofc). The problem is that the main feature that for me is what I would buy it for (don’t know other people’s opinion on this) is the calculate keyword competitiveness. You have this option on the video review but you have the “platinum” version of the software.

    This comes with a monthly fee though, so why have that recurring revenue drain when you can just get MS or LTP for that matter on a one off fee. They are both virtually the same in my opinion. This is the only thing that is stopping me from buying the software. If the calculation of keyword difficulty was included in the one off fee, i wouldn’t mind paying the full $97.

    Don’t know if this comment will make any difference or if it worth it but anyway, just my thoughts :)

    • July 20th, 2015 at 6:58 am

      At the moment the Platinum comes at a one time fee during the v3 launch – you are of course free to use which ever version suits you best

      • July 20th, 2015 at 7:31 am

        Oh? I went through to the sales page and it was the pro version and not the platinum. Il go and check it out again.

        Thank you for your quick reply Mat :)

  32. 7.20.2015

    Thanks for the video Matthew, just purchased longtailpro via your link.

    Would you mind explaining a couple of things for me:

    1. How are certain pages without ANY high authority links ranking in such high positions and beating other pages with hundreds of high authority links?

    2. Is the ‘Juice Links’ column generally how you’d judge how difficult a keyword is to rank for?

    Rowan

    • July 21st, 2015 at 12:23 pm

      Hi Rowan,

      1. That’s a can of worm questions but on the top level it’s usually the overall domain authority. Like if Amazon published a page about ‘Super Duper Dog Treats’ they would probably hit top 3 for that keyword instantly

      2. It’s a solid indicator but before taking action on any SERP always do your due diligence, a good rule to follow in SEO in general :)

  33. Daniel Boswell
    7.20.2015

    Matt,

    I also purchased through your link. Your review was just to awesome to pass up on this software.

    Quick question… in your review you mentioned focusing on some products like ProductNamethat are spelled as Product Name and are low competition. My question is how would you tackle a review using a keyword like that? Would you make that the primary one that is misspelled? Would you mix them with the spaced spelling and correct spelling? I’ve found some good ones and would appreciate some direction on how you’d handle writing a post to rank for the spaced keyword?

    • July 20th, 2015 at 3:45 pm

      Make the primary one the one with the space then what it should actually be as a secondary keyword scattered throughout

      • Daniel Boswell
        July 20th, 2015 at 7:51 pm

        Matt,

        Thanks for the feedback. I just had a thought… I found a set of keywords that I want to target and the highest searched term is the product name with a space. Would it be better to write blog reviews using the lesser searched keywords and then do a resource page that targets the product name with a space and has links to the articles I’ve written?

        • July 21st, 2015 at 12:20 pm

          Yeah I would go dedicated post targeting with the space then use the resource page to integrate both. Don’t forget your internal linkys!

  34. Charlie
    7.20.2015

    I have been waiting for this for MONTHS! Glad you’re back to good ‘ole blackhat SEO!

  35. 7.22.2015

    A good tip is to always change to an IP of the country you’re pulling results from. This way it will give you the correct KC for that country. If you calculate the keyword from your IP then from another you will see what I mean.

    LPT only gets the search volume from whatever country you select, the KC is based on your IP.

    It can actually be a big mistake for a newbie. I once forgot to do it and found a keyword with 13 KC but in America ( the country I was targeting’s) it was 37.

    It all comes down to the way Google personalised searches.

    • July 23rd, 2015 at 12:02 pm

      I don’t believe that is the case with v3

      • July 23rd, 2015 at 6:38 pm

        Yeah still does the same thing. Ran a few test this morning and been using it since it got updated. It still only takes volumes of the country since its taken from Google Planner. KC is taken from the IP the computer is running. It’s really a flaw that shoukd be fixed since it will just mislead people.

        Like when one of my students asked me why he wasnt ranking turns out it showed a KC of 27 for him but the true KC of the countey he was trying to rank for was 54 (on the old version but still the same with v3)

        • July 24th, 2015 at 12:08 pm

          Ahhhh I see you should drop support a note about that, I will forward your comments as well

  36. 7.22.2015

    Hey Matt. Honestly wasnt that impressed with LTP the last time I used it. I guess everyone to their own. I have tried tons of keyword tools and settled on secockpit. Seems to be the most accurate in terms of what can actually be achieved vs what they consider “low” competition. A bit expensive though. Keyword canine was another tool I quite liked.

    • July 23rd, 2015 at 12:01 pm

      Well I can’t judge those myself as I have never used them :)

  37. Ian Hamshaw
    7.23.2015

    Hi Matt,

    I’m in!

    Another quality post.

    I purchase Market Samurai and that has a long tail keyword function; I guess not as good as this!

  38. 7.23.2015

    Hi Matthew,

    Really Super Video about Keyword Research and i have bought the Long Tail pro after watching this video.i m also trying to find high CPC keywords by using LTP but i can’t find yet hopefully will get soon.

    Thanks

    • July 23rd, 2015 at 11:57 am

      What I tend to do is plug in the keywords it finds as more seed keywords to get past the tier 1 results so to speak

  39. Simi
    7.24.2015

    Its awesome, makes research so easy!

  40. 7.24.2015

    Long Tail pro I have to admit does a better job that Market Samurai. I still like MS, but Long Tail pro just does the things I want to do faster.

  41. 7.25.2015

    Hey

    Can you please clarify, is the $17 per month for platinum a thing of the past?

    • July 26th, 2015 at 1:49 pm

      It was available as a one time fee last week, I don’t know if that’s the same now

  42. Atinder
    7.27.2015

    Haven’t used the Long Tail pro yet, but going by the review written here and by some of reviews given by my blogger friends, it seems, it can do a bit better job then Market Samurai.

  43. Michelle
    7.28.2015

    Hi Matt

    Question- once I find a keyword that has a low amount of juice links and then write a blog post, when it comes to linking do I link to that specific post page or to the Homepage?

  44. Charles Been
    7.29.2015

    I am newer on this site.. I have seen your tutorial. Thanks for sharing such useful information.. I will experienced of it soon..

  45. Orion CompuTech
    7.30.2015

    Google is trying to connect searchers with the content they might be looking for. As a marketer, this is helpful to you because it shows you what already exists out there in the niches where you operate, and if you don’t have content on those topics yet, maybe you should.

    • July 31st, 2015 at 8:45 am

      Oh s***, is that how Google works? I need to learn to internet better

  46. yesoption
    8.5.2015

    what of keyword canine vs long tail pro, which one is better

  47. 8.6.2015

    What’s missing from LTP is the ability to save projects to a central location like Market Samurai does. This kills my ability to work on a project from 2 different locations.

    • August 7th, 2015 at 7:13 am

      How do you mean? Like it actually save a file in Dropox for example?

  48. sanjay
    9.4.2015

    long tail pro is single user or multiple user

  49. 9.7.2015

    Great tut Matthew. I am a LTP user for the past year or so and it is one of the essentials of online marketing. Recently, I found a hidden gem with 12500 local searches and a KC of 18. :) That’s like a goldmine waiting to be dug up.

    People don’t realize the importance of quality keyword research and try to cut corners. But the monthly subscription for LTP will be worth its weight in gold if used correctly.

  50. DealMars
    9.16.2015

    Just grabbed the Pro version of Long Tail, it’s time to play. BTW thanks a ton for the review and video.

  51. cormac
    9.22.2015

    Hi

    I have the long tail pro product but not the platinum version.

    Is there anything else I can do that is equivalent to the KC feature in the platinum version?

    Thanks
    Cormac

  52. Andreas Wiese
    9.24.2015

    Hi Matthew, great review. After trying SECockpit i’ve bought the platinum version. I hope it works great for the german market.
    Thanks Andreas

  53. Arun
    9.29.2015

    Hello Matthew ,

    I have using this Long Tail Pro for 1 year, before that i can see the KC but now can’t able to see KC ,Shall i go for the Platinum or is any other issue with the Pro Software.

    Please reply me. Thanks in Advance.

    • October 1st, 2015 at 3:38 pm

      It’s working fine here, get in touch with support they should be able to help you!

  54. Rob Grattan
    10.4.2015

    Been using platinum for a couple of weeks and have found it slow and buggy. The individual KC doesn’t show most of the time.

    Support just says ‘have you checked your Moz credentials?’ and stuff like that.

    Disappointed.

    • October 5th, 2015 at 8:30 am

      Have you ran the update that made fetching the KC score more efficicent?

      • Rob Grattan
        October 5th, 2015 at 2:52 pm

        Hi, Matthew,

        Thanks for the reply.

        Yes – I’ve done all the updates, cache clearing, uninstall, re-install etc.

        Strange thing is that it works fine for a while and then stops.

        Will give it another go today – maybe it’s just me…

        Rob

        • October 5th, 2015 at 8:48 pm

          Hmm sounds strange, almost like a connection time out or something?

  55. No
    10.23.2015

    Just bought the Platinum version. Spent hundreds of dollars on it and my credentials don’t work. I am so frustrated and support is not responding. Feels like a scam so far…

    • October 23rd, 2015 at 8:04 pm

      How long ago did you contact support? It’s out of office hours right now

  56. Curious if you’ve found a way to efficiently find underperforming keywords? Currently I have to manually click on each and every keyword to calculate it’s Keyword Competitiveness. Frustrating clicking it hundreds or even a thousand + times. I’d rather just add it as one of the scan settings and wait 8 hours for it to run all 1000 than having to manually click them for an hour and then waiting…

    • November 21st, 2015 at 6:29 pm

      No you have to do it 1 at a time, I just click them all then go do something else

  57. Dakota Johnson
    11.17.2015

    A very powerful tool indeed, I am looking forward to having it someday, I am on a tight budget right now but its nice to know such tool exist.

  58. Jul
    11.21.2015

    Hi,

    Does Long Tail Pro and/or Plat 3 have a training manual?

    Thanks

  59. RL
    12.6.2015

    Well, I started reading your article then saw you were promoting High Traffic Academy. I will never trust anything by Vick Streizheus, so this leaves me questioning your integrity.

    That guy is one of the biggest scam and con artists on the web in my opinion.

    • December 7th, 2015 at 9:12 am

      I have never heard of it nor promoted it – not sure where you are seeing that?

  60. 1.5.2016

    Hi Matthew,

    I have recently purchased the Long Tail Pro by using your referral link. I had some problem for my long tail pro software ,i can’t find out the Keyword Difficulty Calculator ,Please help me to solve my problem or suggest me any solution

    Thanks
    Malar

    • January 6th, 2016 at 10:19 am

      Hey Malark,

      May I suggest you speak with support directly?

  61. George Woolsey
    1.30.2016

    My keyword research always starts from Long Tail Pro, I can’t live without it because no other tool provides the option to bulk check k keywords’ search volume at a time.

    The keyword competitiveness feature is my favorite one because it gives me a quick idea about the competition, BTW KWfinder is also good in analyzing competition because it calculates competition from majestic’s data. What’s your opinion about Kwfinder matt?

    • February 1st, 2016 at 7:10 pm

      Yeah that was a great update recently that saves a bunch of time :)

      • George Woolsey
        February 2nd, 2016 at 1:32 am

        That’s really good to hear, I hope now I can work 10x faster with it.

  62. 2.2.2016

    Hi Matthew bro,
    I’ve seen many bloggers recommended long tail pro, Right now i downloaded free trial and i will give you feedback soon .

  63. Mehdi
    3.8.2016

    Hi Matthew !

    Would you please put the video download link at the bottom of it, so user like me can download it too?
    Youtube is censored in my country so I can’t access your videos.

    Thanks,
    Mehdi

    • March 8th, 2016 at 12:33 pm

      Sorry Mehdi but I don’t have them available to download at this time, its something I am considering though as I used to make them available for download

  64. 3.8.2016

    The problem is that the main feature that for me is what I would buy it for (don’t know other people’s opinion on this) is the calculate keyword competitiveness.

    • March 8th, 2016 at 12:32 pm

      Yes that is the main feature and they recently updated a lot of things to make it even better!

  65. Chris
    3.16.2016

    Problem with LTP is that it is pretty much useless without the competitiveness factors…which they charge a tonne of extra money for in their Platinum version. They aren’t very transparent about this.,

  66. Francesko
    4.6.2016

    Hello, Mathew!
    Thank you so much for this honest review.
    I’ ve been researching for LTP many months ago.
    I just one to ask you did they removed the one-time-payement?
    I can only see a monthly/annually subscription.

    Please, let me know!

    Best regards,
    Francesko!

  67. Christian
    4.26.2016

    For mac user also usable?

  68. 4.26.2016

    I used Long Tail Pro for a year in 2014 for a site in Spanish, but always had the problem that I was not looking for key words. I hope is working well now and does not have that error.

    • April 26th, 2016 at 3:03 pm

      It has changed a lot in the past year, but what do you mean you had the problem you were not looking for keywords?

      • April 26th, 2016 at 4:46 pm

        The problem that I had was that when I set up the campaign and began to search for the keywords, the software did not find any results. Sometimes solved by leaving open the window of my Adwords account. However, when it worked well (most of the times) that Long Tail Pro was a wonder. :)

        • April 27th, 2016 at 9:08 am

          Ahhh I see, sounds like a particular bug at that time. They are releasing updates every few days for the past 6-8 months so I expect that is fixed now!

  69. Michal Matousek
    4.26.2016

    Hi, unfortunately I have a problem with connection via debugger. I got a data from Moz, but no from my adwords account. After I try to do it manually via debugger, it show me an error message about “my browser is too old”… Dont you know how to fix it?

    • April 26th, 2016 at 3:02 pm

      You should contact Long Tail Pro support directly, but I suspect the fix is running Windows Update to grab the latest version of Internet Explorer

  70. james lee
    4.26.2016

    LTP is overrated. SEMRush and Google Keyword tool is much better. $37 dollars just for using the KC module is a rip off.

    • April 27th, 2016 at 9:08 am

      SEMRush is a very different tool and not really comparable

  71. 4.26.2016

    What main factors you are checking before going for a keyword ?
    PA & DA & TF ?? or only LTP KC value only ?

    • April 27th, 2016 at 9:06 am

      You should also look at the top 10 results to get an overview of the types of sites/domains that are ranking

      • April 27th, 2016 at 12:03 pm

        top 10 is okay thats common but my question is for those top 10 result What main factors you are checking like PA & DA & TF ?? or only LTP KC value only ?

        One more thing which is best backlink analyzer you think mainly to check backlink competition ?

        • April 28th, 2016 at 9:08 am

          Well there are a few things I look for (I will produce a bonus video about this topic and add it to the other bonus video tutorial) but basically I like to see sites like forums/niche sites/Q&A sites in the top 10 along with other things like sites that are not targeting exact keyword in title/meta, sites with low page authority and domain authority, sites that are less than 3 years old etc etc

  72. 4.27.2016

    Very Useful Tools matthew, I have been using it from last one year and its excellent..

  73. Arbaz Khan
    4.27.2016

    Hey Matt,
    I have been using Long Tail Pro myself, but I don’t do a lot of keyword research. So thanks for sharing all these amazing keywords with us.
    Although, there would be a lot of competition in these niches now, I am sure that we can make money out of it.
    Thanks.

    • April 27th, 2016 at 9:05 am

      No problem :) And if theres one thing I have learned about people from running this blog is you can give people the keys to the castle, and even then they wont do what it takes to unlock the door.

  74. 4.27.2016

    Great post Matthew! Long Tail Pro is a very useful piece of software for long tail keyword research. One of its best features is that you can carry out heavy analysis on the keywords of your choice, without being limited to only working with one or two at a time.

    • April 27th, 2016 at 9:04 am

      It is indeed, especially now you can calculate competitiveness in bulk!

  75. Man Withau
    4.27.2016

    Hi Matthew, nice review.

    I can see you changed the way to expose your post, this new feature of windows where you can chose whether to read or watch your video tutorial… really good idea, all in one.
    You’ll tell us how it goes.

    Thank you!

    • April 27th, 2016 at 9:29 am

      Actually I have that option on every video tutorial already, it’s just now I changed the layout :)

  76. Paul
    4.27.2016

    Hey Matthew just shared on Twitter but I can’t get access to the low competition keywords?

  77. Rohit
    4.28.2016

    Its really best keyword research tool ever

  78. 4.28.2016

    In my opinion LTP is the best tool for finding new niches and also for analizing their difficulty, I use a lot and Im always checking and searching goog keywords for my websites.

    • April 29th, 2016 at 9:12 am

      It is indeed :) It’s also the tool that all of the keyword sellers use to find awesome niches!

  79. 4.30.2016

    Hi Matthew

    Thanks for posting this review and guide. Definitely very helpful and comprehensive! I’ve only just downloaded the trial for Long Tail Pro, and having this guide means I will be able to get started ASAP. Here’s to a Bank Holiday weekend of KWA!

  80. nandu web
    5.2.2016

    Very nice video about keyword research,i m also trying to find high CPC keywords by using LTP.Thanks for sharing it is really helpful!!

  81. 5.4.2016

    Thanks mathew for the review. But let me tell you, I am a great fan of yours. By the way I think good search volume and low competition makes things easier for ranking but that does not guarantee good conversions! Thats a point to be cast some light I suppose.

    • May 5th, 2016 at 10:23 am

      Yes that is very true, it is important that your content aligns with the intention of the search :)

  82. 5.5.2016

    Longtail Pro is a good keyword research tool, but 1 important thing when doing SEO that is never overuse the long tail keyword.
    It’s become suicide because Google consider that’s spam since so many repeated content…

    • May 5th, 2016 at 10:22 am

      That’s only if you were to create separate pages for keywords that are related but essentially the same, eg “start a website” “make a website” “create a website”

  83. Long Tail Unlimited
    5.5.2016

    Long Tail Pro is a great software. I use it for my website keyword research to get organic traffics from google and it helps me a lot. I would recommend all to get this software. Its awesome for marketers.

  84. James Grayston
    5.9.2016

    Thanks for the detail. Another really helpful support guide.

    I have just double checked the keyword “fitness watch for women” in the GKP and it shows a global search of 320. Can I ask, where did you get your 3000 monthly search figure from?

    Thanks,

    • May 9th, 2016 at 10:41 am

      Its possible the number has changed since the time of publication

  85. 5.9.2016

    Long Tail Pro it’s the best tool to find long tail keywords.I saw your blog post it’s very useful for me to do keyword research quickly.

    • May 10th, 2016 at 12:38 pm

      No problem, it’s a great tool – I couldn’t live without it!

  86. 5.10.2016

    Matthew,
    Looking to get this at the Annual plan of $25 as it states.

    When I click on this option it brings you through to the Payment Page, which is fine – HOWEVER at the top of the payment page it states:

    Plan: Long Tail Platinum Special Discounted Annual Plan
    Price: $1 Trial for 10 days, then $297 / year (33% off Annual plan)

    It says on one page it is $25 on the payment page $297
    Which one is it?
    Or is the $25 the saving made only?

    Thanks

    • May 10th, 2016 at 12:36 pm

      It’s the equivalent monthly price, so it works out at $25/mo instead of $37/mo

  87. Mohamed
    5.15.2016

    Great Article, thanks sir :)

  88. 5.26.2016

    A wonderful article! Having carried out keyword research on a number of occasions, I strongly recommend SEM Rush or Moz’s new Keyword Explorer tool. Google’s own Keyword Planner is also worth a look if you’re undergoing internet marketing on a budget.

    Keep the great articles coming Matt!

    • May 26th, 2016 at 10:20 am

      Yeah SEMRush is great, I will be showing that off in the next month or so :)

  89. Steven
    5.28.2016

    A word of caution to anyone considering Long Tail Pro Platinum.

    I recently signed up for the annual plan (via Matthew’s affiliate link to give something back to a highly regarded authoritative voice in this industry), and the plan came with a generous ten day trial period.

    However, one of the key features of the software is Keyword Competitiveness, and at time of writing, this is not working.

    LTPro Support explained that it’s due to a reliance on an external API and they are working hard on a fix.

    As a new customer trying to evaluate the software, I asked if my trial period could be extended once this fundamental issue was fixed, on the basis I couldn’t actually evaluate its requirements against my criteria. I was told this was not possible, which frankly, is very poor customer service. What’s the point of offering a trial period when customers are unable to fully test the software?

    I did not think it was unreasonable to request an extended trial period and I found the inflexibility of their support very disappointing.

    I did also try to reach out to one of its business owners to point this out in the hope he may have stepped in to offer a common sense perspective. I have urged the business owners of LTPro to review their policies with regards trial periods of software that is not fully functioning.

    So whilst Long Tail Pro has just continued to grow in revenue every single year and comes highly recommended, you may want to check if all the important features are fully functioning before signing up. Especially the KC feature (keyword competitiveness) as it is so fundamental to keyword research and making an informed choice on whether or not to go into a particular niche.

    If the team at LTPro don’t look after their current and potential customers, their growth and success will eventually stagnate with less than favourable reviews.

    All in all, a very deflating experience when I had such high hopes…

    • June 1st, 2016 at 3:54 pm

      Yes they had a problem with that last week but it was quickly fixed up.

      It’s a shame they can’t extend the trial period though because it makes perfect sense to do so, but this could also be down to a limitation of their systems but I’m just guessing.

      The one thing you can be sure of with LongTailPro though is they have been around for 5 years constantly updating, improving and fixing their software unlike many other tools that just come and go.

      • Mark
        June 13th, 2016 at 7:51 am

        Hi, I was pretty disappointed to hear about Steven’s experience above. I tried to buy the software a few days ago but the payment methods are quite lacking (no Paypal, no prepaid credit cards accepted) and the support didn’t even try to resolve my problem.

        Anyway, does anyone know if the problem with Keyword Competitiveness still persist? I haven’t been able to find anything about this on their website.

  90. 5.28.2016

    Hi Matt,

    is it suitable for other google markets/languages as well or ist it just for us?

  91. 5.29.2016

    Excelente Matthew…

  92. 6.3.2016

    Can someone help me I wanted to know if really this tool work? Sorry for the English I’m from Brazil

  93. praveen
    6.27.2016

    hello sir,
    You always provide great value to all your blog readers. I got very good and detailed knowledge through your tutorials.
    You wrote long and helpful articles as tutorials, as you use long tail pro for keyword research so I have a silly question in my mind that how do you find that much content for your articles.

  94. 6.30.2016

    What do you think of these metrics for the new LTP results?

    Page CF: Below 35

    Page TF: Below 20

    Domain CF: Below 55

    Domain TF: Below 40

  95. Ji
    7.5.2016

    Hi there,

    I just downloaded a free version of LTP 3.1.0 and I cannot figure out why I can’t see the table headers of ‘Page Authority’, ‘Domain Authority’, ‘Juice Links’, etc next to ‘Keyword Competitiveness’. Normally, I should be able to see these but instead I see new categories like ‘Trust Flow’, ‘Citation Flow’, ‘Domain CF’, ‘Domain TF’ and so on. I thought I can still use the regular version of LTP for 10 day trial so I am not sure why I see different categories. Is it b/c I am on version 3.1.0 instead of 3.0? Let me know if you have any idea.Thanks!

  96. johny
    8.9.2016

    What is the price of long tail pro these days?
    For duration of one year

  97. Jane
    8.11.2016

    Excellent tutorial. I am going to download LTP now and tray to find some good keywords for my site, thanks

  98. Yan
    8.16.2016

    Seems that Adwords is now restricting keyword data to very large ranges. Getting numbers like, 100-1k & 1k-10k in ‘Local Searches’ on keywords for example. This is going to limit all software based off of Google’s numbers.

    Any thoughts?

    • August 18th, 2016 at 4:46 pm

      That is because of the keyword grouping change and some apps are already reacting to it such as SEOMonitor

  99. Devanagaritech
    8.22.2016

    Thanks very informative article I’ll bookmarks your blog for features

  100. 9.9.2016

    Matthew, are you still using LTP as part of your strategy given the changes with Google AdWords and MOS the past few months. None of their training reflects these changes in the video tutorials, so it’s a bit slower on the learning curve and seems very limiting on some of the LT Keyword options that are registering no data, when we know there is search data for certain words. Seems like something that was designed to work incredibly smooth is playing catch up from changes in 2 major areas, MOZ and Google.

    • September 9th, 2016 at 12:06 pm

      Yes I still use LTP for my keyword research and you are right, there have been some major changes recently that are affecting all keyword research tools. So far LongTailPro have released a number of updates to combat that but are yet to update their training material.

What are your thoughts?

* Name, Email, Comment are Required