Author Hreview Review – Increase Search Traffic With Eye Catching SERPS

PLEASE SHARE
Review of: Author Hreview

Reviewed by:
Rating:
5
On August 2, 2013
Last modified:February 16, 2015

Summary:

A great collection of plugins that can add simple review rich snippet markup to your blog or transform it into a fully featured review site. It also features a fantastic testimonials plugin.

Author Hreview Review – Increase Search Traffic With Eye Catching SERPS

The Author Hreview plugin pack makes it easy to upgrade your site, increasing search traffic with eye catching search engine results.

The plugin pack contains 3 plugins which each do something different-

  • Author Hreview: A simple review plugin and is actually the plugin I have used since the launch of the blog to power the review boxes you sometimes see.
  • WordPress Reviews: This is an advanced review plugin that transforms WordPress into a fully featured review site including user reviews, ratings & custom fields!
  • Customer Testimonials: Makes it easy for you to collect and display user testimonials anywhere on your site (adding this to the blog soon).

So whether you want to add simple review boxes to your blog or transform it into a fully fledged reviews site these plugins are perfect!

They also include a bunch of widgets (you can see one in my sidebar) to display your latest/most popular/related reviews and so on.

Rich Snippet Markup

Each of these plugins also includes support for the review rich snippet markup. This is the magic stuff that allows you to dispay review ratings and stars directly in the search results like this-

author hreview review

Author Hreview Video Review!

I’ve been using these plugins since the blog launched 12 months ago. It takes minutes to setup and will instantly make your site more visible in the SERPS while increasing the click through rate of affiliate links.

Anyway check out my more detailed video tutorial & review-

Click Here to Read the Transcript

ALERT: Get Instant Access To My Personal Tools of The Trade!

Resources In The Video

Author Hreview – Add reviews, user reviews, review rich snippets & testimonials to your WordPress blog!

Don’t Like Videos? Follow This Instead!

Today we’re going to talk about how including review sections to your articles will improve your site’s visibility in the search engine results.

Doing this also gives you the option to show reader testimonials and make WordPress your own review platform.

What I Use

The three plugins that come with AuthorHreview which I use are:

  1. AuthorHReview
  2. WordPress Reviews
  3. Customer Testimonials

AuthorHReview is the original plugin that adds the review boxes, WordPress Reviews lets readers submit their own review and Customer Testimonials allows the user to gather testimonials and put them any place on your website to your liking.

Author H Review

This plugin adds a box to your post and it has a some options like adding a date, a name and other things. There is also a widget you can place on your blog with or without an image.

authorhreviewpreview

One great thing about this plugin is that you can add it to any article on your website in just a few clicks. You can preview the rich snippet before without the rating and after with the rating. If you’ve set up your Google authorship, the search result will also have your picture.

To set up Author h Review, it has their own menu set up in the WordPress menu. You can hide certain features or add others but your rich snippet will still show the star rating in the search results.

ratingbox

Other options to customize the plugin are the size and alignment of the review box, the style, button color and other details so there is a lot you can do with it to make it fit with your blog!

Adding Author HReview to a post

Let’s actually add a post using the plugin. So add a new post and come down to the review box below the body text.

authorreview settings

What you can include:

  • Star rating
  • Name of the item you are reviewing
  • Short review summary
  • Disclaimer
  • Price
  • Version and type of product
  • Author name

There are three different templates you can choose from, I normally use the default template. There is the option to hide the ratings box on each page, manually place the box by using the shortcode, upload an image, change the text for the button and alignment and establish if the link is follow or not.

So as you can see there are lots of customization options for this plugin. Personally, I like having the box up at the top so it’s easy to see.

Now that’s all set up, let’s see what the published post looks like!

publishedreview

The widget automatically updates itself to add the new review and you can check to see what the rich snippet looks like.

So that is the Author HReview plugin. Now let’s look at WordPress Review for a more advanced review plugin.

WordPress Reviews

WordPress Reviews is a more advanced plugin than the Author HReview, with more features like user reviews and comments.

wpreviews

Readers can send in their own personal reviews of the product and it’ll get added to the comments section.

Another cool thing it lets you do is add the pros and cons of the item and the rich snippet includes all the reviews, including your own and other people’s.

There’s more customization options for website placement or you can drop in the shortcode anywhere.

wp reviews shortcodes

You can set the reviews with or without a summary or list reviews by tags which is nice if you have more than one product that gives the same service, you can just tag them and people can find it through that.

To set up the plugin, once again it has its own menu and you can just go in there and fill it out to your liking. You can even take out the user reviews if you don’t want that.

wpreview settings

To protect your site from spammers, there are a couple options that are easy to set up. You can also hide the rating box and other details like the Author HReview plugin.

Using WP Reviews in a post

Like before, scroll down to the Review settings box and add in the details like name, rating, and summary. Make sure to tick the box that says Enable User Snippets.

wpreview set up

If you want, you can fill in the pros and cons. Choose your display settings, add an image and the link. Remember you can always manually insert the review box into individual posts or put it on the top or bottom of the page.

Let’s see what the fully finished WP Review looks like!

wp review publish

Now you can see the text for the price doesn’t fit quite right so just go back in and fix that.

If you want to use just the shortcode, there are two different types that you can use.

shortcodes

The first shortcode says that you want your reviews pulled in chronological order with the images and summaries. The second one is just for five different related reviews. To include images, type “images=yes” or summaries with “summary=yes.”

If you want to show only the most recent reviews, type “recent_review num=1″ and add summary or images if you want.

Let’s see how the shortcodes look.

shortcodes look

As you can see, the reviews are displayed how I wanted either with summaries or images or without. With the shortcode you can paste it anywhere on your blog: the sidebar menu, beginning or end of posts.

That way people can easily see it and click on it!

Customer Testimonials

The last plugin we’re going to go over is the customer testimonials which is pretty handy for collecting different testimonials and putting them together.

testimonials

There are some neat widgets for displaying the testimonials around your site but the coolest part would have to be the actual submission of them.

There’s a shortcode that creates a form for people to fill out and submit for approval.

form

You can also include the reviews into your rich snippets so that people can see it when it comes up in the search results. Pretty neat!

Now let’s learn how to set it up.

On your dashboard, click on Testimonials in the menu and it’ll take you to all of the testimonials so far with the details such as summary, date, website, etc. I like that it takes the gravatar from the email address so their picture comes up.

customer testimonials

If you have some previous testimonials stored away in another place, you can add those and even set up categories for different services.

Under Settings there are more options such as home and front page snippets and SEO.

Displaying the Testimonials

Click Edit Page and you’ll see the testimonials written in code in the box.

testimonialsedit

You can see that it’s set up to have 3 different views: simple, tooltip and bubble which you can change to whatever you like. To change how many reviews are shown you can just type “num=1″ or to however many.

To create the page with the submission form, just create a new page and name it something like Testimonials and paste in the shortcode.

This plug is really a handy tool to have so you can ask people to write a testimonial for you after they’ve subscribed to your mailing list or bought the item you reviewed.

There’s different ways to format it so since I really like this plugin, I’m going to add it to my main blog.

Resources In The Tutorial

Author Hreview – Add reviews, user reviews, review rich snippets & testimonials to your WordPress blog!

Wrapping It Ip

The plugin pack is really nice and you get all three of them so you have plenty of options for displaying reviews and including them in the rich snippets.

You can just do product reviews, turn your WP into a more advanced review platform or gather customer testimonials.

It’s a great way to show yourself off!

Learn How To Steal  Your Competitors Rankings With My #1 Personal SEO Strategy!
Get instant access to my personal SEO strategy that I use on every single site that I launch time & time again.

76 Responses

  1. 8.2.2013

    its a great plugin Matt, i bought it a few weeks back and its already tripled my conversions. i still need to do a bit of tweaking but so far its money well spent.

    • August 2nd, 2013 at 1:59 pm

      Glad to hear it – I’ve not found anything else like it!

  2. 8.2.2013

    d***, this is awesome Matt! Hope I win..

  3. 8.2.2013

    Entered! Man, I hope history doesn’t repeat itself (Matt knows what I mean.)

  4. I entered Matthew. Looks like it could be pretty useful for number of my properties. Crossing my fingers.

  5. tiroberts
    8.2.2013

    Ah, ha! I KNEW I’d seen you around before I’d received Ehsan’s email about your “how to create a blog” tutorial.

    Aleks had pint us against each other in his SEO vs. Social media traffic comparison post. LOL.

    Yup, contrary to his post it seems as though our blogging and traffic generation tactics are very similar rather than different, even the way we create our case studies. Although I prefer your template and will be possibly be remodeling mine after yours.

    Awesome competition and review, Matt. I’ve always wondered how bloggers got those neat review boxes to sit so nicely in their sidebars. Now I know!

    I’ve entered your competition; hopefully I’ll win.

    Anywho, I’m off to purchase that neat social lock plugin you mentioned in your income report. It’ just the thing I need for my upcoming blog post/tutorial next week.

    And, of course, I’m purchasing through your affiliate link. ;)

    Enjoy your vacation, my friend; Cheers!

    Ti

    • August 3rd, 2013 at 9:00 am

      HI Ti,

      Thats very kind of you thanks =D I haven’t actually looked around your blog yet – not even had time to eat this past week lol but I’ll get round to it =D

      Fancy dropping me an email with your best posts?

  6. MixerDJ
    8.2.2013

    Ohh I hope this time I’ll get Luck I’m in Matthew :D

  7. Ian Wilcox
    8.2.2013

    Ohh sweet! another awesome competition! thanks matt and good luck to everyone… fingers crossed!

  8. 8.2.2013

    Mehn, I’m gonna win this stuff

  9. Umee
    8.3.2013

    I am in… ;)

  10. 8.4.2013

    Awesome, just in time. I’m looking for a plugin that allows me to add the right snippet for reviews in my site. Hope to win the pro version. The free or lite version is good, but the premium version offers lots more great features.

    I’m in

  11. 8.6.2013

    Hi Matthew,

    Does the plugin work also for pages, not only posts?

    • August 8th, 2013 at 11:35 am

      Only for posts sorry =\

    • August 28th, 2013 at 7:36 am

      Just a small correction, the Author hReview and WP Reviews plugins works on posts, pages, and custom post types.

  12. MixerDJ
    8.20.2013

    Congratz winners and f*ck my luck :D

  13. 8.21.2013

    Woot. Thanks for coupon code. Just got the multi-site license.

    Congrats to the winners!

  14. 8.22.2013

    Hey Matt, everytime i come to your site seems to find something new and interesting. What are you now using for the popular posts thats rotating between social networks

  15. micsten
    8.22.2013

    Have to say after purchasing this Plugin I’m pretty disappointed.

    I have only used the Customer Testimonials section of the plugin (which is what I bought it for). It doesn’t allow you to add dates next to each customer testimonial which is a major flaw as far as I’m concerned.

    Also you have to fill out every field when a new testimonial comes through within the CMS – that includes image, website, etc for the reviewer or it won’t show up on the page where you put the shortcode. Even if you have no intention of using those elements.

    I visited the support forum and found that several other people had had this issue, but there is no mention of it in the instructions on how to use the plugin – which would have saved me quite a bit of frustration before i managed to find the thread in the Support Forum.

    Also it won’t let you add the average score into the site unless you place it as a Widget, which is pretty limiting. Would be much better if it was made so you could add it via some code into the template.

    The Customer Testimonials part just feels a little rushed and half-baked.

    I have left my suggestions on improvements within the Feature Requests but had no response yet – to be fair I only posted it yesterday.

    There is another Customer Reviews Plugin (WP Customer Reviews) that does a similar thing which is free, I had that installed earlier but moved over to this paid version. Sorta wishing I hadn’t bothered now.

    Anyway, if people are out there like me looking to buy this due to the Customer Testimonials part I would say buy it under the understanding it still seems to be a work in progress.

    • August 23rd, 2013 at 7:27 am

      Hi,

      I assume when you downloaded it you saw the beta tag?

      I’m using it on the blog here although haven’t deployed the display of them live anywhere yet.

      But the date isn’t an issue for me and I’ll be filling out all fields.

      No doubt the dev will fix up the bugs and remove the beta status in the near future.

      What was wrong with the free plugin you were using? If it aint broke, dont fix it ^^

      • micsten
        August 27th, 2013 at 10:45 am

        Hi Matthew,

        Here’s hoping the author will iron out those issues soon.

        I changed away from using the free option because it wouldn’t let me place an aggregated review score anywhere on the site, which Author hReview does.

        I wanted to put that on the homepage, so that the rich snippet in results would show a star rating with ‘out of 304 reviews’ text showing.

    • August 28th, 2013 at 7:55 am

      Sorry to hear that. Let me explain a few points.

      * The Customer Testimonials is not a section, it’s a plugin. Also, it’s a bonus plugin that you get for free when you purchase the package, it dose a very special task, so it will get a good care and go out of beta soon. Also, there are a couple of good ideas for the future of this plugin, but I don’t want to burn them out.

      I want to make sure that this plugin actually works really well before consider it a production. The only way for me to do so is to actually test it on live sites due to Google indexing and the time it takes…etc. It’s not an easy job and it take a lot of time and testing.

      * I never thought of displaying the date because I think it’s not necessary, and no one of my members ever asked for this feature.

      * You must fill all fields so that the display gets complete, this is required for shortcodes and widgets to work, or it won’t show in a nice way. So, this is from a design point of view.

      * Displaying the average rating by a shortcode is on my to do list.

      * You didn’t get a respond in the support forum because I was sick in bed last week (I really apologize for that, but I couldn’t work, it’s just out of my control. I hope you understand). I really appreciate every single suggestion you’ve made.

      I hope these points explain.

  16. 9.6.2013

    Just wanted to add and let everyone know that although the plugin is good, the support is downright terrible and Matt, I hope you don’t hide this comment as your readers deserve to know.

    Hesham says it comes with 6 months support, but in reality the support forum has a number of posts that just goes unanswered. When someone who had been waiting over 10 days for a reply, Hesham replied’ I chose what posts I reply to, this is my forum”, what kind of attitude is that?

    I, myself am still waiting for reply 7 days later, as are many other people. I wouldn’t waste my time with this.

    • September 6th, 2013 at 10:53 pm

      Hi James,

      From what I can gather people that have emailed him directly have had good support but please feel free to post a screenshot of the comments for future reference!

    • September 6th, 2013 at 11:12 pm

      I am sorry for your bad experience, but I’ve responded to your emails, and also in the forum. I’ve explained the reason and asked you to wait for your turn (which obviously is my decision, not yours), you instead hijacked other people’s posts and made a miss in the forum.

      I don’t welcome this attitude.

      • September 7th, 2013 at 6:50 pm

        I’m going to publish this, but honestly Hesham this comment makes you look pretty bad. The customer is always right my friend.

        • September 7th, 2013 at 7:23 pm

          Thanks for publishing my comment Matthew.

          “The customer is always right” is a wrong believe!

          That’s only my personal opinion, it’s not the right way to do business my friend.

          • September 8th, 2013 at 3:07 am

            Well no, not always. But if they have paid for something that isn’t working – they choose when you help. As the developer its your responsibility to make sure everything works 110% and there are no compatibility issues etc.

            If something isn’t working – that is your fault, no one elses. If your going to charge a premium price you must provide premium support.

            My support experience with you was the complete opposite and you were very helpful – please keep that up for everyone.

            I’ve seen a bunch of great products go out of business due to poor support/complaints like this so please don’t join that list!

      • September 8th, 2013 at 2:00 pm

        That person that hijacked the thread your’re referring to is me.

        It was in fact me that was waiting over 10 days with no support.
        I then saw that you replied to someone else that had posted just the day before hence I posted in the same thread asking why I had been waiting 10 days with no support but yet someone else posted 1 day and got a reply the next day, to which you replied that you had been sick and that you decide which support posts to reply to, which I thought was totally not on.

        So to suggest that I HIJACKED the thread and insinuate that I caused havoc in the forum is a little misleading.

        Also, my reply to your post on the 29th wasn’t answered till the 6th, so in total since my first post asking for help on the 22nd of august, it’s been 15 days and STILL my issue has not been resolved.(Though you have now asked me to email support)

        Matt, you own a copy so will have access to the forum look under my username Jasonle and see for yourself.

        I had no attitude, I just got fed up with waiting for over 10 days for support. I think you would feel the same if you was in my position

        • September 8th, 2013 at 2:35 pm

          Drop some links/screenshots to the threads

          Sorry about your bad experience – I’ll do my best to protect the readers!

        • September 8th, 2013 at 5:49 pm

          Jason, I’ve asked you to email me because you didn’t want to share your site in the forum, I can’t help you if you didn’t send me a link to your site.

          So, please just send me an email so I can help you.

  17. John
    9.14.2013

    Well that escalated quickly. :o

    • September 16th, 2013 at 9:59 am

      Haha always does ^^ premium price requires premium support though

  18. 10.11.2013

    Hey Matthew,

    I found your blog. AWESOME AWESOME CONTENT.

    I wanna show my thanks for your AWESOME content by buying Author HReview using your affilate link.

    CHING CHING CHING. Commision for you! THANKS AGAIN!

  19. 11.28.2013

    Pro version is best.
    I am planning to purchase pro version of author hreview plugin.

  20. 12.28.2013

    This is really useful plug-in. But, all the features available in pro version only.

  21. 12.29.2013

    Nice review Matthew, I tell you, I’m loving your blog more each day. I definitely will be featuring you in a blog post very soon.

  22. John
    4.9.2014

    Matthew, Nice plugin!
    Is this still a good plugin to use with the latest changes in Google?

    • April 12th, 2014 at 12:22 pm

      Yes no problemo

    • April 12th, 2014 at 10:23 pm

      Just want to let you know that I am fully supporting this plugin with non-stop development :)

  23. 4.30.2014

    Hey Matt,
    I’m currently running a contest sponsored by this plugin package. It’s a wonderful 3-in-1 pack

  24. 5.7.2014

    I am currently using the testimonials plugin on my site with several testimonials created but google search results still do not display the star rating even with a price entered.. Just an excerpt from the trstimonial….

    I tried the reviews plugin on one of my other pages and google results showed the star rating right away so I’m not sure what gives!

    • May 9th, 2014 at 4:06 pm

      If you use the rich snippet testing tool, does that work ok?

      Just because you have the markup, doesn’t automatically mean Google will show it in search results. They clamped down on this after it got spammed/abused

      • May 9th, 2014 at 4:47 pm

        Yep, the rich snippet testing tool shows everything from star rating to price :)

        • May 9th, 2014 at 10:26 pm

          Then just keep building your authority and Google will reward you in time :)

  25. Angela
    6.4.2014

    I presume you have to download it from the site authorhreview . com ?

    As if you look at it from the wordpress plugins page it says

    Requires: 3.0 or higher
    Compatible up to: 3.5.2
    Last Updated: 2012-12-15
    Downloads: 31,417

    Only compatible up to 3.5.2 !!!
    Also I wouldnt recommend anyone use a plugin that is on version 0.0.9.4 – experience should tell most people leave well alone until at least 1.0

    • June 4th, 2014 at 4:20 pm

      Works for me on the latest WordPress and I still use it across this blog

    • June 4th, 2014 at 11:08 pm

      Not sure what this version number means to you, but this is just a number to differentiate plugin updates, this doesn’t mean the plugin is missing something!

      The plugin didn’t require an update, and it works with the latest version of WordPress 3.9.1 with no issues.

  26. 6.9.2014

    I’m using premium version of this plugin. This plugin is really good only one problem – it adds stylesheet and JavaScripts file in header on all pages. It should be like, if plugin is used for that post then only it should add those files otherwise it’ll affect performance of site.

    • June 13th, 2014 at 10:51 pm

      Drop the developer a mail and see what he says!

    • June 23rd, 2014 at 11:11 pm

      Hey Ryan,

      You are right, I will fix this asap.

  27. 6.19.2014

    Author snippet is really awesome thing, but since last spam removal update, Google has stopped showing my authorship. Which factors they consider to show author pic Matt?

    • June 23rd, 2014 at 1:20 am

      I would go with-

      1) your not using a picture of a person
      2) you not using a real name
      3) not in many circles
      4) looks spammy

  28. 12.8.2014

    Hi Matthew
    Great review and video tutorial
    how much seo boost this plugins give ? Google still count that after all the updates in 2014 ?
    Thanks Avishay

    • December 11th, 2014 at 2:47 pm

      Rich snippets help improve visibility and CTR so a big boost

  29. 1.27.2015

    Author hReview is a nifty WordPress plugin for adding Google Rich Snippets.I like this plugin very much.thanks for your review

What are your thoughts?

* Name, Email, Comment are Required